Skip to content

Making Your Own Sketchbook

April 21, 2011

As you may know, I recently have been involved in obsessed with regular daily sketching, doodling, and random mark making. The papers I’ve been using have been a variety of colors, textures and thicknesses. But I know I’m going to want to eventually bind them together for future reference. This instructional article make your own sketchbook is inspiration enough for me. I know I’ll want to do this. In the comments it was suggested that one could just take them to Kinkos or any print shop and have them spiral bound. That would be a great solution too. But for me, it would not be nearly as exciting or as personal as a completely hand bound book.

For those of you who like to watch over someone’s shoulder, here’s a really nice video. This link was sent to me by my friend Sue Cole, a reader of this blog.

Fun stuff to think about. Sue is a great resource for information on art projects, especially paper related projects.

I think this is definitely all due to spring fever. I’m not feeling very serious right now. I feel more like playing, and can do all this right outside on my screened porch while I listen to the birds.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 4:59 pm

    Playing is all good! In fact I’m coming round to the idea that I should always have that attitude when making art 🙂 Enjoy making your sketchbook! Thanks for the links and loving your ‘doodles’ 😉

  2. Sue Cole permalink
    April 22, 2011 8:42 pm

    Martha, what did you use to make the lines on the yellow and black piece?

    • April 22, 2011 9:01 pm

      Sue, the one with the dark gray background has some silver paint pen, some tulip paint in orange, and on top of all that is black marker. The little silver squiggles happened because the silver paint pen would not flow at all unless I pressed down and made a blob. Hate those things!

  3. Sue Cole permalink
    April 22, 2011 8:44 pm

    just to let you know, Karin is doing much better now. She’s the one in the tutorial. She’s off all her treatments and is getting stronger every day.

Trackbacks

  1. Simple and Complicated « An Artist's Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

