Skip to content

New Collage, Scrolls Series

April 20, 2011

Scrolls Series #8 - Collage with Hand Painted Papers, 5x7" on 8x10 Watercolor paper

Yesterday and today were garden days again. Yesterday we expanded our raised bed area and got the dirt ready, and today I got my sixteen tomato plants set out.

Several of them are from heirloom seeds that I’ve been pampering for about two months, and four were well-established Cherokee Purples that we bought from our favorite nursery.

We also brought home some flowers and ornamentals for shade areas in the yard and for some of the big pots. In addition, I managed to find a gorgeous mix of several cosmos flowers in the back of the greenhouse. It’s always so much fun to walk through the nursery and pick out beautiful things to adopt and bring home. Then when I get them here, the realization soon dawns that there’s a lot of digging still to do.

Cosmos Bipinnatus - Photo by Frank Vincentz

I think the cosmos were my favorite find of the day. What I love about them are the tall, delicate stems that seem to suspend their blossoms in midair.

Studio time today consisted of a half hour of doodles and then putting screw eyes and wires on the backs of three big paintings that are to be delivered for the annual juried show at the local Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts. That opening reception is on the 15th of May and the gallery show runs for a month.

The above collage is number seven in the Scrolls series. I’ll keep this series going for a while. (Click on the image for more information.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 8:37 am

    Hi Martha – I love this flower a lot, too – Cosmos Bipinnatus. We have wanted to plant some as well, and I’m so glad you mentioned the name – cuz I didn’t know what it was to ask at my nursery. They are so pretty and they also seem to grow easily in our dry climate. Always a plus!

    Have a great show! And, Happy Spring!

    – Jennifer

    • April 25, 2011 10:48 am

      Jennifer, I’ve never had them before, but have always loved them. Reading about them online, I’ve learned they will re-seed, spread, and also get pretty tall. That makes me happy. I’d like to think I’ll have them for a long time to come.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

