Skip to content

It’s All Art to Me

April 18, 2011

Scrolls Series, #6 - Collage with Hand Painted Papers, 5x7" on 8x10 Watercolor Paper

This morning before seven, I made four pints of strawberry jam. We had bought a gallon of strawberries from a nearby farm and I could see we weren’t going to be able to finish them. The jam is pretty tasty (how could it not be, with 7 cups of sugar in the recipe!) but I think I’m going to have to re-cook it, because it’s not setting up enough. I’ll think about that tomorrow. If it doesn’t work on the second attempt, I shall rename it pancake syrup.

Then later today we set up another trellis system for our two beds of English peas. You’re looking at the first trellis we made, and the second bed is in the background of this picture, which now has a trellis too. The peas were planted two weeks apart. So there’s that.

And every day I have to go down to the back of the yard and check on my potatoes, which are planted in black bags. It’s a total experiment, but so far so good. I’ve added dirt to the bags twice already as the plants grow taller.

Not too far away from the potatoes are some bundles of paper under the pine needles that I’ve placed there for weathering. They’ve been there for about 2 months and aren’t ready to take out yet, but I’ll be sure to show them when I do.

We have several other early things growing — some onions, garlic, and carrots which were planted in the fall, and two boxes of beets that are just about 4 inches high. We won’t set out our tomatoes and peppers for a few more days. I have lima beans just now coming up as well.

We’ve had severe storms come through here in cycles of every few days, so I have to get out there when the weather is nice to get the outdoor stuff done. It soon will be too hot for working outside for long stretches. But I don’t mind. I get as much creative inspiration from the garden as I do from working in the studio. It’s all art to me.

Still I’ve managed to get out into the studio for a little while each day, and have had some success with more new collages. The one shown here is another one of the Scrolls series. If you click on the picture, it takes you to my Etsy shop.

The Invention that Unlocked a Locked-In Artist

Finally, I’d like to share this video with you that I hope you’ll find as uplifting as I did. It speaks volumes about the creative spirit.

I hope your week will bring many creative discoveries.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 11:46 pm

    Martha as always you have showed up fully and filled the stage with artistic wonder. From your collage, to your garden to the video you chose – a great post. Congratulations! I will be sharing 🙂 Terrill

    • April 18, 2011 11:52 pm

      Thank you, Terrill! I immediately thought of you and your recent blog post. People, get to Terrill’s blog and feast your eyes on her garden photos!

  2. April 19, 2011 8:18 am

    Oh, I love this piece – well done!

    Now I wish I had some stawberry jam…

    • April 19, 2011 2:51 pm

      Well Lauren — at this point I have some strawberry pancake syrup. It also would be good on ice cream! 😉

  3. Nancy permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:45 pm

    WHEW… just watched the TED talk – amazing. thank you for sharing this inspriational, creative and generous man and his story. i found another that you might like ‘how to steal like an artist’ and i have to get the coordinates so shall post it here later.

    • April 19, 2011 2:53 pm

      Thanks for that link, Nancy. I saw it going around Facebook and shared it there. I think I probably should blog about it. I’m so impressed with this artist’s work and writing (and imagination!)

  4. Sue Cole permalink
    April 19, 2011 8:58 pm

    I love TED. They also have a new one now called TEDMED with all their medical discoveries.

  5. April 20, 2011 2:45 am

    what a great post Martha – from strawberry jam and English peas to the amazing laser eye drawing! What a rich post and life!! thank you for sharing

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

