Skip to content

An Inside and Outside Day

April 13, 2011

Last night I was putting together my post for yesterday and we suddenly lost our internet connection, which stayed down for the rest of the evening. So today there will be two posts.

You won’t believe how my day went, but I’m going to tell you anyway. Thinking that today was the day I was to go out to my sister’s place in the woods (more on that later) I started in the studio early yesterday, fully planning an inspired and productive day. What I wanted to start out doing was to make a whole lot more hand painted papers for use in collage.  Then I thought that might lead to a collage or three. So I was merrily slopping around in the paint, dripping and smearing and spattering, getting it all over me along with the papers, and here are some of the results:

And then about 11 a.m., just as I was completely covered in paint, the phone rang. It was my sister. She said “I thought you were coming by this morning.”

The wild flower walk I had promised to join her on was getting underway out at her property on Spring Creek in Colbert County, Alabama, organized by one of several local nature groups. I had thought it was today not yesterday, and I really wanted to go. So I apologized for my mix-up and said I’d be over as fast as possible and go with her.

So I washed all the brushes and straightened up as best I could, scrubbed most of the paint off my hands, got dressed in long pants, long socks, and hiking shoes and headed out.

When you think about it, that abrupt change in the day’s plans couldn’t have been more fun and inspirational. I went from basking in beautiful paper and paint for a whole morning to looking at and absorbing incredible natural beauty for the second half of the day. That’s two incredible days crammed into one.

The wildflower group had headed out after waiting a little bit for us to show. Their day typically starts with a tour of the pioneer village, then a picnic lunch, then down the wooded trail to the creek, then back around via a steeper, rockier route. We knew we didn’t need to be there for the village tour, so their waiting for a bit after lunch didn’t hold them up for long.

My sister and I had a quick bag lunch on the porch of the big cabin and then got into her little 4-wheeler for a white-knuckle ride over washed-out rocky terrain with deep ruts (did I mention my sister is 76? She’s a tough cookie, and so am I for staying in that thing with her.) We had to park the 4-wheeler when we came to a felled tree across the trail and walk the rest of the way to join the wildflower folks. They had been taking it slow, in order to listen to Charles the tour guide identify all the flowers.

The walking  part of the trip was much more relaxing, and I got to meet a whole new group of people who love nature. And here are some pictures from the walk.

One of my favorite little waterfalls, and nice black trunks against a forest backdrop

Bluffs above us along the trail

The stream bed

Another view of the bluffs

Lichens covering an old log

Seeing trees against sky in springtime is why I love the color combination of cobalt blue and yellow green.

. . . and at the end of the trail, Spring Creek.

My second post of today will be about collage, as I plan to resume with some studio time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 7:07 am

    Hi Martha,

    Great story, it’s almost a week packed in one day… And really beautiful pictures of the wild flowers, thank you for letting us enjoy with you!
    Regina, SXM

    • April 14, 2011 9:06 am

      Regina, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I’ve just now visited your blog and find lots of treasures there!

  2. April 14, 2011 7:54 am

    What a perfectly lovely day. Isn’t wonderful when we are flexible enough to allow ourselves a chance to enjoy all the colors of life and then find a way to blend them into a new creation? Thanks for sharing your serendipitous day!

  3. pat q permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:15 am

    What a wonderful walk you went on..I feel as if I was walking along too. Now you also have beautiful photos to cut up to add to your collages….. 🙂
    patq

  4. April 14, 2011 4:06 pm

    What a wonderful walk. A privilege to live in this area.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

