Skip to content

New Collage and Some Sketch Book Pages

April 9, 2011

Yesterday caught me gardening and not blogging. So here’s a Saturday update. I do have a new collage:

The Conversation in My Head - Collage, 4 x 4"

 

And since we were recently on the subject of sketch books and journals, here are some pages from an old sketch book of mine. It contains these five pages, plus a few pages of magazine clippings, and then the whole rest of the pad is blank. At the time I was fascinated with microscopic imagery and simple botanical forms. As I’ve said, these don’t really find their way into my work, except for possible observation of nature patterns for storing away in a mental compartment somewhere. It was fun flipping through these again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 12:04 am

    I was just telling someone about your work today Martha. It was a good conversation 🙂 Appreciate you sharing your sketching journal. I will have to do that some day. Best of the weekend to you. Terrill

    • April 11, 2011 11:04 am

      Thank you for sharing me with your friend, Terrill! 🙂 If I do some more up-to-date sketches I will definitely show them on the blog. I think that would be a fun incentive to keep doing them.

  2. April 11, 2011 12:13 pm

    Hello,

    New to you through Lauren. Love the new collage, the box with the white straws at the top in the midst of the the rest of the composition made for a really strong image! It was interesting to see how the sketchbooks informed the collage. Nice work!

  3. April 11, 2011 1:14 pm

    Thank you, Mary! It’s so nice of you to stop by and take the time to comment. I just visited your blog and love your work.

  4. April 13, 2011 2:59 pm

    I was wondering about the white things in the middle — cigarettes? Ocean life? Shouldn’t ponder but just enjoy the great contrasts of this work.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

