Skip to content

Color Field Paintings Revisited

April 6, 2011

Ember - Acrylic on Canvas, 40 x 30"

 

Ember II, Acrylic on Canvas, 40 x 30"

Have you ever created art that you saw only for a short time? I’m so glad I have photographs of all my work, because these two paintings lived with me for maybe a week, and then were sold — both to the same collector.

I think my color field paintings hold up to the test of time. I still have a studio inventory of this body of work, and some of them are listed in my Etsy shop.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    April 7, 2011 2:41 am

    Gorgeous rich colours, no wonder these sold so promptly! I am sure that this savvy collector is very happy with his purchase! I hope that all is well with you.

    • April 7, 2011 2:22 pm

      Thank you, Sandra! They told me at the time that they were very pleased. That pleased me too, of course!

  2. April 7, 2011 4:57 am

    Yes that happened to me. I saw a Rothko painting on tv, never remembering the painter’s name, but this picture kept haunting me for years. I would feel haunted (in a positive way) by these paintings. They remind me of Turner. The orange glow is just overwhelming.

    • April 7, 2011 2:26 pm

      Thank you, Eva. Yes, Rothko’s paintings still resonate for me as well. And Turner’s skies are wonderful too.

  3. April 7, 2011 8:58 am

    Such rich and vibrant colours!

  4. pat q permalink
    April 7, 2011 10:14 am

    Hi: Such incredible colors. Such depth. I love these pieces. I hope you are well and not weathering anymore storms. I am well.
    Patq

    • April 7, 2011 2:28 pm

      Glad things are good with you, Pat. Thanks – happy you like these. We made it through the last wave of storms, but more will be passing through next week.

  5. April 7, 2011 2:00 pm

    Very lovely paintings Martha! It’s no wonder they left the nest so quickly. My latest little painting sold almost as soon as I posted it on my art blog! I’ve had this happen at least one other time as well. It’s such a joy to me to find that I’ve just created something that immediately strikes a chord with it’s perfect new owner. I do like to have my ‘babies’ around for a bit before I send them off into the world, but I am always happy when they find their new homes. 🙂

    • April 7, 2011 2:29 pm

      Thanks, Itaya, and congratulations on your recent sale! I couldn’t agree more with your statement. It’s nice to have them around to admire, but given a choice, I’d choose for them to find new homes!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

