Skip to content

Baking Bread and Waiting for the Storms

April 4, 2011

Echoes 30 - Acrylic on Canvas, 12 x 12 x 1-1/2" (Click on the Photo for more info)

 

We’re watching on the weather radar a massive line of severe thunderstorms with possible tornadoes headed our way. By the time you read this it will be all over, but right now we’re watching the clouds and the wind and the pacing and panting dog. At least it’s happening during the day. The storms are supposed to be through here by bedtime with nothing left but light rain and hopefully an exhausted dog. Here she is like a deer in the headlights, with her whippet sister snuggling close to Dad.

This dark and gloomy Monday has been the perfect time for me to update my Etsy shop by uploading a whole stack of 12-inch paintings that I’d been putting off listing. But now it’s done and I’m feeling very productive and proud of myself. While that was going on, I finished shaping two loaves of bread from dough that I started yesterday. Those are rising and almost ready for the oven.

Update:  Bread success!

I came across the above painting that had never been properly photographed, so I re-shot it this morning. I had posted it here a while back, but I don’t think you’ll recognize it. This one has a lot of metallic copper acrylic paint underneath the other colors. You can visit my shop and see what else is new by clicking on the picture.

This is my new bread book:  My Bread by Jim Lahey. It’s wonderful reading in its own right, and the instructions for making no-knead bread are thorough, illustrated in minute detail, and easy to follow.

Uh-oh! Here comes more rain.

Enjoy your week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    April 5, 2011 2:49 am

    Love Echoes especially the contrasting touches of blue. I hope your storm is over now and did not do any damage. We’re coming into winter and most of today here was cold and wet. Painting classes have started up again after a three week gap due to the earthquake. Spent most of the afternoon painting, once I got home from work. It is really good to have one enjoyable thing to do, there isn’t much else here at present.

    • April 5, 2011 10:44 pm

      Thank you, Sandra. Fortunately we escaped any damage in our immediate area, though a state park right up the road lost some trees! And they had large hail which we didn’t have.

      So glad you got some painting time. I know, doing art is a wonderful way to retreat to your own world, even if only for a little while.

      I hope everything was all right with you and your family during the earthquake.

  2. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    April 5, 2011 9:10 pm

    Hi Martha, I love this little painting, it’s so vibrant! I hope the storms passed without too much damage. I’d go for a piece of that bread right now and lots o’butter. :))

    Sandra commented on the earthquake and winter coming on and I’m figuring she is in New Zealand. My partner’s niece lives in Christchurch and has been severely shaken herself by the quake – diving under desks at work and liquifaction on the ground. Just horrible and my heart goes out to Sandra.

    Well, hope I haven’t been to dramatic but…jeez louise there’s been a whole lota rockin goin on and even hearing about it is quite upsetting. I think I’ll go and check out that bread book you referred to and cheer myself up. :))

  3. April 5, 2011 10:47 pm

    Sherrill, I would have shared some of that bread and butter with you. It was delicious! Glad you like the painting.

    I’ve heard from some people online that they had family and friends in the Christchurch earthquake. It sounded so awful. You’re right – so many quakes and floods and storms and strange goings on.

    I think you would love the bread book. Plus, look him (Jim Lahey) up on YouTube. He has several demos that show just how easy it is once you get the rhythm down.

    • Anonymous permalink
      April 6, 2011 8:43 pm

      Hi Martha, Me again. Just wanted to say I ordered the book (bread). I have made this bread before and was thrilled with the outcome. I have always wanted to make a bread like this and gained five pounds in a few weeks. 😦 Thanks for sharing with us.

      • April 6, 2011 11:06 pm

        Well, Anonymous, it’s happened to me too, I’m afraid. Now that I’ve succeeded in learning how to make good bread I need to back off for a while. It’s one of those challenges, you know? But when you make art you usually aren’t tempted to eat it. With bread you are.

  4. April 6, 2011 12:07 pm

    Beautiful painting. I love the textures and color combination. That bread looks pretty tasty too.

    • April 6, 2011 11:07 pm

      Thank you, Laurel! And yes, the bread was delicious. Well, I made two loaves, so there’s another one waiting in the fridge. When we want to serve it we’ll just heat it up again and it will be like new.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

