Skip to content

New Collage – Practical Magic

April 1, 2011

Practical Magic - Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers, 8 x 8 mounted on 11 x 14" Archival Paper

I said I would be taking a collage break, and so I did. This collage will be in my Etsy shop by tomorrow.

Just so you know how fast my studio goes from pristine to “lived in” – here are before and after pictures spanning just two months’ time. Remember when I changed my year-old table cover? Here’s the picture:

And today, this is how it looks – from the opposite side, of course.

Yes that’s cat litter under the table. Blueberry the Cat has moved in with me, because her room used to be our office. But that wasn’t practical, so her food and her litter box are in my studio. She’s good company.

Blueberry the Studio Cat

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    April 1, 2011 9:03 pm

    Hi Martha. I’m running a little behind lately, not stuck, just in slo-mo it seems. Just want to tell you how much I liked yesterday’s piece. It made me think of the beach when I lived in the Bahamas – beautiful, peaceful, full of motion and definetly mysterious. A really great piece. Please show it again when you consider it done.

    Today’s collage is also very interesting. Papers have been ” calling me ” lately so maybe it’s time for me to get back to a little” playing and pasting” as well. I’ve been working on miniature paintings in part of the new studio that’s finished. The stairway is the last part to be done and it will be completed tomorrow then I can spread out some papers and see what happens. I can’t wait to create a space that resembles yours after two months. Pristine is nice but a little creative clutter goes a long way in my book. It seems more comfortable – and absolutely more realistic, at least in my case.

    Hearing about your new studio companion was wonderful. I’m sure you’ll both enjoy the company. The idea of a cat in the studio sounds so quiet and relaxing! I guess there is always the possibility of paw prints turning up in your work unexpectedly too. Sounds like fun. Hope you both enjoy it. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next. It is very generous( and motivational) of you to share so much with us. You have inspired me many times to” show up and do the work” even when I didn’t feel especially creative. Thank you! Terry

  2. April 2, 2011 12:24 pm

    Terry, I hope you enjoy many creative hours in your new studio space! I agree with you about creative clutter. All I really need is space to move around and work. I don’t mind having a lot of visual stimulation around the room.

    Show up and do the work – that’s the secret! Reminds me of a quote attributed to Picasso: “Inspiration does exist, but it must find you working.”

  3. Sandra permalink
    April 3, 2011 2:58 am

    What a lovely cat. I can imagine what good company she must be. Does she sometimes want to do some art of her own?

    • April 3, 2011 5:32 am

      Yes, Sandra – she has been known to rip paper sometimes. I supposed I could start a new series of “cat-modified papers.” 🙂

      Actually, the dogs get into my papers too. I have to keep them out of reach.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

