Skip to content

Building More Layers

March 31, 2011

This is the painting I’m still working on, at the end of Session Four. In the lower right hand quadrant you may notice clear gel that hasn’t cured yet. But I did want to show you that I’m still working on it.

I am really getting on a roll after having worked on these last two paintings. Now I truly am out of canvases that I can paint over.  I’m not really seeking more canvas experiences. I’d be happier just working on panels. But either way, I’m going to need to get more ordered.

Today’s session involved adding wet layers of tinted gels. I’m liking what’s happening. The pink swoosh on the left is going to become not-pink. Maybe yellow ochre, or raw sienna. If you compare the two canvases below, you’ll see I have a way to go on the new one.

Now I will have two. To review, here is the current one, and below that is the one I recently finished (though these aren’t final, properly lighted photographs.)

 

Both of these canvases are 30 inches square.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 8:21 am

    Martha, I like the sense of environment that I am getting with these works. I get a sense of place and time with each one. I am looking forward to seeing the dried and cured pieces in improved lighting. Again, thank you for sharing your work.

    lottie

    • March 31, 2011 9:21 pm

      Thank you so much Lottie. I’m hoping this will reach a satisfying conclusion for you and for me!

  2. March 31, 2011 9:14 pm

    Martha I am walking right beside you as you add depth and layers of such beauty. I can not express how much these steps shared mean to me…you are one courageous woman. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • March 31, 2011 9:25 pm

      Mary Helen, I’m glad you see something of value with this adventure. I hadn’t thought of it as courage, but maybe so. I’m not afraid of failing — which could happen!

Trackbacks

  1. On Being Stuck « An Artist's Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

