Skip to content

New Painting and a Before and After Challenge

March 28, 2011

Here is a better picture of one of the 8 x 8 boxes that I was working on recently. I’m pleased enough with it to call it finished.

Ritual 48 – Acrylic and Paper on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

Before and After Challenge: Jackie Griswold

Jackie Griswold at Swift River Arts has jumped into the Before and After Challenge (Click here for the original details.) Here is the link to her post showing her before and after piece.

Jackie’s painting has gone through a complete transformation into a collage. Nice work!  That’s something I’d like to possibly consider with future canvases that already have paint on them.

My Before and After is coming along. I have some gels drying, so it can’t be photographed today. Hopefully I’ll be ready to show its progress tomorrow.

I hope you’re planning some great studio time this week.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 6:32 pm

    This one is beautiful – I like the black/white contrast and the bright colors in the middle – very nice work.
    Jackie

  2. Sue Cole permalink
    March 29, 2011 2:37 am

    by “gels”, do you mean what I call paintskins, like the one above? I love making those.

    • March 29, 2011 6:39 am

      Well Sue, some of what you see in this one are paint skins. I love them too. The gels I mentioned are some textural gels and also clear gel that I applied to the big one very thickly.

  3. March 29, 2011 3:22 am

    What about large paintings in this style?
    Love it. Would make it the statement for my hall if I had one.

    • March 29, 2011 6:42 am

      Oh, yes, Eva! I need to do some experimenting with larger ones like this. You’ve planted the idea in my head now!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

