Skip to content

Before and After Challenge: Julie Brown

March 17, 2011

Before and After Challenge

If you’ve missed my previous blog posts about the Before and After Challenge, check it out here. Please feel free to jump in with your own show and tell at any time. Anyone can participate. It is strictly for the purpose of sharing our art and thoughts.

Canadian artist Julie Brown wrote about her Before and After painting here in a recent blog post. Her painting went through a complete transformation just as mine did, but in a realistic style rather than abstract. Her two paintings are very different from one another, right down to the color palette. I like both the before and the after.

That’s the scary part — painting over something completely, knowing that the painting that you might have liked just a little is gone forever and can never be re-created exactly as before. I like that kind of courage.

I hope you get a chance to visit Julie’s blog and comment. Thank you, Julie, for sharing your process with us.

Spring Break In The Studio

This is one new collage that I haven’t blogged about. It’s another one that I created from a larger collage matrix made from hand painted papers and bits of printed text.

Expedition - Collage, 5 x 7"

This week I’m getting ready for a good friend’s arrival tomorrow for the weekend. It will be the first time we’ve seen each other in about three years, I believe. It will be a fun visit. I’m having some family over to join us for a cookout in this beautiful weather. All of a sudden it’s spring!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 4:12 am

    Spring coming and a dear friend visiting? Sounds perfect Martha.

    • March 20, 2011 10:52 am

      And it was, Cath! This has been our first real spring weekend. Windows open at night. enough breeze to be outside. Wonderful! And we had a great visit. Mary’s already left for the airport this morning.

  2. March 21, 2011 7:42 am

    Martha, thank you for linking to my before-and-after challenge effort. I’m finding reworking these failed or incomplete works very liberating! Your work always inspires me, and I look forward to reading your posts.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

