Skip to content

Reworking the Painting, Part 4 – Final

March 14, 2011

Just in case you missed my blog post about the Before and After Challenge, check it out here. Please feel free to jump in with your own show and tell at any time.

I have made a few more changes to my “Before and After” painting. I decided it needed some more color, and where you saw the charcoal lines in the previous version, I rubbed some of those away and added some gestural strokes with paint in several places. After that dried, I brushed a good heavy coat of gloss polymer medium over the whole painting. Then I photographed it again. Note: Where you see a slight blurring of color in the upper right hand color is a combination of glazing and glare from the flash. This is not a professional photograph. I will have to retake it when the sun comes out some day soon.

Here it is, finished, and in reverse chronological order are all the previous versions.

Echoes 37, Acrylic on Canvas, 30 x 30 Inches

Work in Progress, Session 3

 

Work in Progress, Session 2

State One, First Day - Canvas size 30 Inches Square

I might have liked it after the third painting session, but it just wasn’t resolved to my satisfaction. I’m happy with having more color. Since it fits with the rest of my Echoes series, I gave it the same title and a number. I’m so original!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    March 14, 2011 6:41 pm

    Martha, it’s FABULOUS!!!!!!! Well done!!!!!

    • March 15, 2011 5:00 pm

      Terry, I’m so glad you still like it, or maybe like it more. I kind of felt the same way, but am relieved that it worked out.

  2. sherrill pearson permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:58 pm

    Hi Martha,

    Really like the way this turned out. It’s funny we always know when it is finished after working on it for a while.

    • March 15, 2011 5:02 pm

      Thanks Sherrill! Yes, I think we do. If we’re unsure, it probably means it’s not finished.

  3. March 15, 2011 12:10 pm

    It’s luminous! I love what you did with this painting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

