Skip to content

Reworking the Painting, Part 3

March 11, 2011

Just in case you missed the recent blog post about the Before and After Challenge, check it out here. Please feel free to jump in with your own show and tell at any time.

Here’s the current state of this painting, shown at the top. I’m including previous pictures of it for comparison.

I wanted to add some big impasto smears to it, and I like the painting itself at this stage. But looking at the photograph, I’m wondering whether or not it was a good choice. The colors of these can change, or I can simply scrape pry them off. They are created using Golden Light Modeling Paste, which is absorbent to receive color, and is soft enough to remove at this stage. But still . . . I might decide to keep them.

I’ve also added some squiggles and scribbles with charcoal. Those can come off if I change my mind about those tomorrow. I’ll have to stare at it for a while to know what to do next.

Current Version, Work in Progress

 

Painting Yesterday - Work in Progress

State One - Canvas size 30 Inches Square

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    March 11, 2011 9:49 pm

    Hi Martha. Really liked the painting yesterday but – LOVE IT today. How’s Boomer?

    • March 11, 2011 10:08 pm

      Oh, thank you, Terry! I’m glad you like it — maybe it’s close to being finished.

      Boomer is doing very well, thanks for asking. He seems like his normal self now.

  2. Nancy permalink
    March 12, 2011 11:36 am

    the painting is looking very good martha – i like the smears!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

