Skip to content

Finding Collage Designs

March 10, 2011

Castaway - Collage, 5 x 7"

Today I worked on the ongoing painting rework, but can’t show it at this stage. It won’t photograph properly with some gels that are now drying. But I can say it’s progressing nicely.

This collage came about from a project that I began several weeks ago, in which I created several collages from a larger random composition similar to this one:

This method of doing collage compositions is so much fun, and keeps my left brain out of the way as I “find” designs that are already there.

Click here for a full description of this process in a series of three posts.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 12:18 am

    In addition to that left-brain exercise you mention, I can’t help but extol the relaxing qualities collage provides, too. I find when I’m working on larger pieces I can just let everything go and make visual decisions without having to query my brain for data.

    Enjoy the paint spatters on “Castaway.” Quite nice.

    • March 11, 2011 9:21 am

      You’re so right, Eric. I think that’s why I love doing it too. I didn’t do much collage until a couple of years ago, and gradually began to discover just how pleasurable it is.

      Glad you like the spatters!

  2. March 11, 2011 6:57 am

    Thank you for posting this, I clicked on the link and watched all three steps in your intuitive collage process. I love the idea of making a large piece and then cutting out smaller pieces that you like. I can see this working with all sorts of things, not just collage, but also abstract paintings. I’m going to give it a try! Thanks for the inspiration.

    ~ Sara

    • March 11, 2011 9:25 am

      Give it a try, Sara. I don’t work that way all the time, but do it once in a while when I need a break from the more serious and frustrating projects.

      As for abstract paintings, you could certainly do that — on paper or even canvas!

  3. Nancy Bell Scott permalink
    March 11, 2011 11:27 am

    Martha, thank you for this post and the link. This is something I do when I end up unhappy with a piece and nothing seems to save it — I’m always shocked when someone falls in love with a work extracted from one of my larger failed works! But it never occurred to me (after years and years, duh) to do this *on purpose,* and what an exciting idea it is. So freeing. You are a very generous artist and person.

    from Nancy the newbie

  4. March 11, 2011 4:29 pm

    Now I know what I want to do when I wake up tomorrow Saturday! Try to do a big collage/painting and then cut it up in smaller bits. 🙂 Fun fun fuN!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

