Skip to content

New Collage and Elder Care

March 3, 2011
tags: ,

Scrolls Series #2 - Collage, 5 x 7" + or -, mounted on 8 x 10 watercolor paper

This week has been crazy busy for an artist who is supposed to have control of her life. I thought that once I was able to balance my time in the studio without the demands of a day job working for someone else, things would be easy. Not so.

Some weeks the demands of family take precedence over studio time. I don’t mind this, but it does necessitate being more creative with the remaining available studio time.

Today I did laundry for my aunt, who is in the nursing home. She is so precious, and loves seeing anyone from the family. The days I don’t get there are days that cause pangs of guilt. When I’m there she is so grateful for company, and it’s fun talking with her, even if the conversation takes strange turns.

And our oldest dog Boomer (14) had surgery today. In a routine yearly exam, it was discovered that he had a large tumor inside his mouth. Boomer’s disposition does not allow most people to look in his mouth, so we wouldn’t have discovered it on our own. I’m so glad we took him for his yearly exam. Boomer is recovering well tonight with pain meds.

And yes, I told my aunt about Boomer’s situation. She was very concerned about him. She loves our animals.

Boomer, be well, little buddy.

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    March 3, 2011 10:33 pm

    Martha this one is very interesting. Also from your table paper? Glad to hear your Aunt is still doing well enough to enjoy company. Poor Boomer! I hope the old boy comes along nicely. It sounds like you have a lot on your plate at the moment. Be sure to give yourself some “me” time, even though that isn’t always easy. Take good care( and maybe a good nap)! T

    • March 4, 2011 10:15 am

      Yes, Terry, the collage has some pieces from the table cover in it. I bumped up the contrast in the photo because there isn’t much in the original. It’s not quite true to color but gives the idea.

      Thanks for the good wishes. A nap is always a treasured thing!

  2. March 3, 2011 11:37 pm

    I love the new art piece!
    Oh poor Boomer, I hope you heals fast and are not in too much pain. Big hugs my sweet friend. xo

    • March 4, 2011 10:17 am

      Thank you for your kind sentiment, Joyce. I know you love puppy dogs and I will give one of your hugs to Boomer!

  3. March 4, 2011 12:16 am

    Hopefully Boomer recups quickly and continues to brighten the household. Great thing those checkups. Also nice to hear of family visits for your aunt, I’m sure she truly welcomes the time spent.

    • March 4, 2011 10:39 am

      Thank you so much. Yes, I’m so grateful we took him in when we did. My aunt loves her family and lights up when one of us comes in the room.

  4. March 4, 2011 3:57 pm

    Hi Martha
    Oh, poor Boomer. He’s lucky to have you – as well as your Aunt. I hope someone will be as kind to me in my old age.

    And, love the collage – actually makes me think of the west – the plains. Maybe some little buildings in the middle, crops. Nice.

    • March 4, 2011 7:04 pm

      Jennifer, we are all lucky when we have each other. We hope the same thing that you do.

      I like your interpretation of the collage! Thanks – glad you like it!

  5. March 5, 2011 8:16 am

    As always: your art is beautiful! It’s lovely that you can take care of your Aunt. I’ll say a prayer for her and you and your precious Boomer. He is a cute one!

  6. March 6, 2011 11:33 pm

    Awww gentle hugs to Boomer. And to you and your aunt.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

