Skip to content

Repurposing Paintings?

February 26, 2011
Some of My Favorite Color Field Paintings in My Studio
Some Favorites and Some Not-Necessarily-Favorites in Storage

Happy Saturday to everyone. I haven’t been blogging on the weekends lately, but I wanted to let you know that we came through the storms OK, and that the damage to the surrounding area was minimal, thankfully. Thanks to everyone who expressed concern. We’re now in full-fledged tornado season as the weather begins to get warm, alternating with cold fronts.

The weekend gives me permission to coast a little. It’s good to just do nothing productive sometimes. It’s the down times that allow the mind to wander creatively (or dangerously?) I have flashes, dreams, visions of new paintings. And they’re not small ones. The paintings in my visions and fantasies are large ones.

Now here’s where the thought process may sound just a little bit shocking:

. . . I already have an overabundance of large paintings in my studio. If I lined them all up around the wall, which ones would really have to be kept and which ones could be . . . (gasp!) . . .  reworked, or repurposed!

There are several that will stay in my permanent collection. I love them enough not to part with them.
But there are others that have more than paid their way in sales of giclees. So maybe they’re ready for an extreme makeover. Maybe. Possibly.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot over the past few weeks. It’s such a tempting idea. They already have a wonderful underpainting, and I’ve had so many ideas about where I would take them if I got brave enough.

(Trust me, getting older makes you either more brave or more afraid. If you do brave things, you become more brave.)

Just putting these thoughts in writing is giving me courage not to dismiss them completely. It may be time.

Maybe if I do get brave, we could do another round of the before and after challenge. Remember that from almost two years ago? Stay tuned, as they say.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 7:22 pm

    oh, this is somewhat scary to me! But then, I don’t need to have layers underneath what ends up being the final piece, so I suppose that is something…

  2. Terry permalink
    February 26, 2011 10:32 pm

    Hi Martha. What an interesting, wonderfully scary idea! Can you tell me where to find the original before and after challenge on your blog please. Thanks. T

  3. February 27, 2011 6:59 am

    Repurposing will be a nightmare for your biographers! — I did that many times, I had to because I just didn’t have room enough to store them. I took photographs of the underpainting, and — yeeeha, next layer!

    • February 27, 2011 7:56 am

      Eva, that is exactly my problem – no room for more canvases. In the past I have stretched new canvas over a stretcher bar and then removed it afterward, but if I like the painting, I’m going to want to keep it stretched.

      As for the biographers, I do have all of my paintings well-documented and with good photographs. I’d have to make some type of notations about the ones that may no longer exist.

  4. Terry permalink
    February 27, 2011 11:21 am

    Thanks Martha. Must have been a computer glitch. Didn’t click last night – clicks just fine this morning! Happy repurposing!

  5. February 27, 2011 2:51 pm

    I’m having similar thoughts these days – mostly about paintings that were almost done but never quite made it. What to do with them next? I like the idea of making sure they’re well-documented. Somehow that makes it easier to start re-working them.

    • February 27, 2011 10:54 pm

      Jul, I have several of that kind too. They might even have titles but I never felt really great about their resolution.

  6. Sue Cole permalink
    February 27, 2011 2:53 pm

    what i was going to suggest is sort of like your before and after. Take a photo of it, print it a couple of times, then try things on the print to see if you like it first, then on the painting. Another way that I use on watercolors is to put a piece of wet media acetate or an overhead transparency over it and paint on that, so that way you are not actually painting on the real painting. Of course, it you like the element of danger, then you just go for it and paint directly on the painting.
    Good luck,
    Sue

    • February 27, 2011 10:51 pm

      All good and sane recommendations, Sue. But I’m way more reckless than that! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

