Skip to content

A Trip to the Farm

February 21, 2011

Yesterday morning was the beginning of a perfect spring-like day. So we drove just a couple of miles out to a family friend’s cattle ranch to load up seven 5-gallon buckets of cow manure for the compost pile. That part took only a few minutes, and then I took some pictures on our way back out.

The cows were having their breakfast. I wanted to get as close as possible without disturbing them, but they were apprehensive about my presence just the same.

This one let me in just a little closer . . .

Look at those eyes.

There are about a dozen new babies on the farm. This one was having a quiet moment with its mother. I didn’t go any closer, because they really are protective of their babies.

(You can tell my camera lens was still cold and foggy.)

And standing in the same exact spot, when I turn the other way, this is the scene looking back toward the entrance road.

What we thought at first was a pile of cow manure turned out to be a well-composted pile of old silage that had been sitting for years. That’s even better, so we loaded it up and later mixed it directly into our planting beds. Here are four of them.

As far as I see it, it’s all the same stuff. Just a question of whether it got processed by the cow or not. And this way smells better.

After a good little workout with the hauling and the spreading, then a great Sunday nap and dinner next door, this sunset was the perfect ending for our day.

White-Throated Sparrow

Thanks to Sherrill Pearson’s comment on yesterday’s post, I found the mystery bird, a White-Throated Sparrow. Listen to this bird singing!

On Today’s Agenda – An Art Workout

Today I’m refreshed and ready for a workout of a different kind in the studio. I hope your week is a creative one.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 11:26 am

    A refreshing visit here! Nice to see Springs progress in another part of the world,
    Interesting that I appear to be near similer countryside to you though the English version perhaps on a smaller scale.

    • February 21, 2011 11:49 am

      Chris, I think it must be very similar, especially out away from the cities. In your immediate area and mine, I think the weather is much the same!

  2. February 21, 2011 12:06 pm

    Thank you for this sunny afternoon! The sparrow is so different from ours, the look just as the song! Quite unusual.

    • February 22, 2011 5:51 pm

      Eva, we have about a million different species of sparrows. They are pretty much a nuisance around the feeders. But now that I know where that song comes from, I have a new respect for them.

  3. February 21, 2011 12:08 pm

    Looks like a lovely day Martha and brought back memories of my time living on a farm up till the age of 5. Our cows were very ‘Kline’. Holsteins. : )
    I must confess I am delgihted to have read the whole post. I’d thought maybe you were looking for a rarefied element in which to stash those papers for weathering…lol.

  4. February 22, 2011 8:25 am

    I love the fence photo, hope to see it inspire a painting.

    And preparing your garden already, lucky you!

    I’ll be seeing cows in my back yard before long.

    Have a creative one!

    Kim

  5. February 22, 2011 6:46 pm

    Good for you! The farm life is a good life…

    Those raised beds of yours look great. Just the sight of healthy, fresh soil is so under appreciated. It is the very essence of that which gives us all life!

    …not to mention, the thought and vision of amazing ingredients grown in healthy soil is both salivating and peaceful.

    Great blog by the way. I think I will subscribe to your posts…

    • February 25, 2011 12:22 am

      Thanks for your comments and affirmation, Daniel. I hope you will subscribe and stop in again!

  6. Jennifer Ressmann permalink
    February 24, 2011 7:51 am

    How lovely Martha – you’re so lucky to live in such a wonderful part of the country!

    • February 25, 2011 12:18 am

      It is wonderful, Jennifer. It has its down sides, but I focus on the things I love about it, like the rolling hills and farms, and the river!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

