Skip to content

Morning Songs and Random Thoughts

February 17, 2011

Morning Songs - Collage with Hand Painted Papers, 4 x 4"

The mornings are filled with bird songs now, and there is one that I would love to identify. I hear this little song from one solitary bird, high enough up in a tree that I can’t make out what kind of bird it is. All I know is that it’s a small bird, rather sparrow-like, as best I can determine from its silhouette. Maybe it is a sparrow.

The song is involved, slow, and melodic. This morning I whistled it back to the bird, and it echoed me. We played that little call-and-response for a few minutes. It was magical.

I love the early morning quiet, when the birds’ songs don’t have to compete with cars and barking dogs and TVs. I like to walk outside with my coffee and a dog or two, to walk the yard and check the garden beds. It’s a meditative time.

Yesterday I discovered a wonderful artist Patti Roberts-Pizzuto, who had sent me a message that she was featuring me in her blog. I think you’ll enjoy her blog and the beautiful works on paper in her Etsy shop Missouribendstudio.

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 9:15 am

    Good Morning Martha – I just love all your work. This one is no exception. You really understand design.

    And, from your last couple of posts it sounds like spring is really upon your part of the country – already. How delightful.

    We are approaching it as well. Though this whole winter has been spring, winter, spring, winter. More drastic than usual and longer bouts of spring – which has really been enjoyable. I really enjoy the bird songs, as well. They think it’s spring, too. Have a great weekend. – Jennifer

    • February 18, 2011 10:04 am

      Jennifer, knowing that you know a thing or two about design, I appreciate that.

      I love it when the birds start their symphony. I imagine they are coming in from all kinds of exotic tropical vacation spots.

  2. sherrill pearson permalink
    February 18, 2011 11:56 am

    Hi Martha,

    Thank you so much for that little piece you wrote about the bird call. i thought right away of my favourite bird song around here in Quebec in the Spring. it might be the same one. it looks like a sparrow and has the most soulful little call.

    Now, I am so excited because I’m a big goggler and immediately googled White Throated Sparrow and zeroed in on a Utube site which I think appears first. And, there he was in all his splendor with his lovely song. Martha, there are all sorts of birds there you can choose and actually see videos of them singing close up in the trees! Thanks for this i wouldn’t have found these today without your blogging. Have a good day. 🙂

  3. February 21, 2011 6:34 am

    Another great collage. I love the composition. And to see some red in your work, raising energies. Like it! — Our birds are silent or distant, it is so cold that I hate to go out: -19° at night.

    • February 21, 2011 10:22 am

      Oh, thank you, Eva! I’m glad you like that collage. It seems so recent that it was too cold to be outdoors. We will still have another cold spell or two, but the birds have declared it spring.

  4. February 21, 2011 10:22 am

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful image and words. When I’m in the city that is what I miss most: my morning walk in the garden with a cup of coffee. Best time of day.

    • February 21, 2011 10:26 am

      It truly is, Detlef. If I’m slow about getting out there, the dogs always remind me! They love it too of course.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

