Skip to content

Transitions, a Small Collage

February 16, 2011

Transitions – Collage with Hand Painted Papers,
Acrylic Paint Skins, and Japanese Candy Wrapper
4 x 4″

These few days have been splendid – just perfect spring days. The birds are singing their little hearts out and tulips and daffodils are poking out of the ground. I know this isn’t permanent. There will be more cold snaps. But there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. I can’t wait to be digging in the dirt on a regular basis.

Today I started all of my tomato seeds in cups. This year we’re doubling the number that we had last year. And they are all heirlooms – a wonderful Roma, Cherokee Purple, German Pink, and Indiana Red.

Spring means evenly dividing my time between the garden and the studio. It’s my kind of life.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:49 am

    Love the colours and contrasts here. Your life does indeed sound idyllic, so happy for you. Have just been up to Wellington to see a fantastic art exhibition of 19th and 20th century paintings on loan from the Staedel Museum. Just feel so energised by it, also by the fact our classes have started again. I seem to need to be kept to a deadline!

    • February 17, 2011 3:46 pm

      Thanks, Sandra! Yes, can’t help being excited about spring. I want it to last for a while, knowing that all too soon we will have a hot steamy kitchen as we fire up the pressure canner!

    • February 21, 2011 10:25 am

      Sandra, I envy you a little with the classes. Deadlines are good for me too.

  2. February 17, 2011 4:56 am

    Something about this speaks to me. I love all the layers and textures and how it seems to pop out of the page.

    • February 17, 2011 3:45 pm

      Thank you, Fadwa. I’m happy you like this one. These are the ones I like doing the best — lots of accidental effects.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

