Skip to content

Works in Progress

February 10, 2011

From the Heart - Collage, 4 x 4"

Yesterday I didn’t have a blog post. I worked in the studio all morning and had a great groove going. Then we knew it was supposed to start snowing late yesterday afternoon, so we went to the Y early so we could get back. Then company came around supper time and that was it for the day.

But I had a very productive morning in the studio. While layers of paint and gels were drying on the panels, I worked on some new collages as well.

The picture above is one of the new collages, and here are some shots of each panel in progress.

You may be asking yourself about the 3D objects embedded on the first one. They are a long story, and there’s nothing I can do but just tell you. They’re made of paper clay, and were originally brightly painted in blue, green, and red. I had created them for use in a new piece for my Sugar Free series. But I never used them for that, and they were sitting around the studio. I had a recurring dream about using them on a new painting, and so I thought I’d go ahead and try them on top of the dark green textured one that everyone liked. So I put them on with heavy gel, let them dry overnight, then painted them all black.

That just didn’t do it for me, so I poured Golden Titan Buff over the whole thing and wet that down so it would work its way into the crevices. I like this strange piece so far.

And that’s how my process works. It’s like a box of chocolates — you never know what  you’re gonna get.

Here are the other three:

More layers to come on this one.

This one is considered finished.

This one has a lot of possibilities, but needs more layers.

So there you have it – two posts for the price of one! Have fun creating.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 2:02 pm

    Oh i o like these Martha! A lot going on indeed
    The Collage interesting was the text accidental as i see the words from the heart!
    The thirds from bottom has a almost sculpted feel and really the last one would not need much more Natures influence;-)

    • February 10, 2011 4:54 pm

      Thank you, Chris! Yes, the text was not meant to convey any kind of message. It was just a piece of text. But since the words “from the heart” showed up, that’s where I got the title.

      Thanks too for the help with thinking about the panels. I don’t want to change much of the last one either. I hope I can do something to bring it together slightly more.

  2. February 10, 2011 2:18 pm

    Martha,

    Great stuff in this newest set. Love the black. Adds a graphic punch to the color. Kudos.

    • February 10, 2011 4:55 pm

      Thank you, David! Let’s paint together sometime before we’re dead. I would so love that!!

      • February 11, 2011 4:07 pm

        Martha,

        Yes! Game ON! In the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Predator, Do-it!, Do-it!

  3. Terry permalink
    February 10, 2011 2:56 pm

    Oh Martha! The one with the embedded paper clay is WAY COOL!!!! Can’t wait to see what happens to it next.

  4. February 10, 2011 2:57 pm

    aloha Martha – i like your working process as you’ve described it. yeah, i often know how i think i will begin a work, but at some point the work begins to take on a life of it’s own and reply back to my thinking. that’s when a working dialogue between us starts and i learn what the work needs and wants as much as i tell it what i thought i was doing. bwahahahahaaha. that kind of dialoguing is when it gets to be fun for me and eventually i find out what we and i are trying to say, convey or explore in the work.

    yeah, too, life happens – i’ve learned when those “other” things come up to just go with it and explore in that too – as often as not that exploration shows up in my work as well. …and then it’s fun all over again. cool blogging. aloha.

    • February 10, 2011 5:00 pm

      Rick I’m so happy you stopped by and have taken the time to comment and subscribe to the blog. Welcome to the discussion!

      You describe my days in the studio to a T. As my painter friend David Novak says “Ain’t life grand!”

      I’m glad to discover your work. Lots of great stuff there!

  5. February 10, 2011 4:00 pm

    The first collage is my favorite – beautiful! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Works in Progress « An Artist's Journal -- Topsy.com

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

