Skip to content

Waiting for Spring, Acrylic on Panel

February 7, 2011

 

Waiting for Spring
Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″

How could this painting have been titled otherwise? A figurative, not literal, interpretation of the end of winter.

And here are the rest of the paintings in progress, waiting to be finished:

I am feeling a strong pull to stay in the studio until I turn these into paintings, so I can move on to some collage. The one at the bottom left is finished except for more layers of gel.

I hope you have a creative week lined up already. Happy art-ing!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 11:51 am

    Always nice to see new work from you!
    The stirrings of Spring are so near but still so far as it!
    were!
    we have the delicate colouings of crocuses the gold and purple,
    but the bleak February days can pick a punch with the cold and wind

    • February 7, 2011 2:24 pm

      Thank you, Chris! We have little shoots of daffodils poking out of the ground and flocks of robins are everywhere! But another big cold front is expected this week! Brr!

  2. Terry permalink
    February 7, 2011 12:05 pm

    Hi Martha. I really like “waiting for Spring” (aren’t we all!!!). May I ask what you used to make the dark line drawings? I’ve been wanting to incorporate some charcoal drawing into some paintings but I can’t seem to get past the “smear factor” when adding paint or gels. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks. Terry

    • February 7, 2011 2:28 pm

      Thanks Terry. OK, here’s the deal with the line drawings. I used an ebony pencil, rather than a regular graphite one. I think the ebony one is amazingly smooth and makes nice marks.

      If you want to do it with charcoal, which I do sometimes, draw the lines and then spray over them with clear acrylic spray. That will make them smear proof. I do the same with pastels over paint too! (I’m talking acrylic, since I don’t mess with oils.)

      Gosh, this ought to be a blog post! Thanks for the idea. 😉

      • February 7, 2011 2:52 pm

        Hi Martha…love this one and can’t wait to see the other 3 that look like they have some blue paints in them! Hope you will show us close ups of the rest as well. 🙂

        The ebony pencil, is that one similar to this http://www.dickblick.com/products/prismacolor-ebony-pencil/ ? Looks like it is graphite. I haven’t tried using an ebony pencil but do use graphite from time to time. They don’t seem to smear like I thought they would.

        Look forward to the post about how you make all the lovely markings in your paintings!

      • February 7, 2011 3:03 pm

        Yep, Itaya — that’s the one. It’s graphite all right, but just not “regular” graphite. Hard to describe how wonderful it is. Plus it’s harder to erase, so you don’t want to put it where you aren’t sure about it. I use it to sign a lot of my paintings, then I put clear acrylic over it.

        Wow, I definitely have to do that post. Stay tuned! 😉

  3. February 7, 2011 1:53 pm

    “Waiting for Spring” is beautiful. There’s a sensitivity to it- a delicacy and raw quality also. I like the “random” (I’m sure not so random) pencil marks.

    • February 7, 2011 2:32 pm

      Thanks Stephanie! Well, I love “automatic drawing.” So I tried to do that in a way that would seem as random as possible.

  4. Terry permalink
    February 7, 2011 2:43 pm

    Hi again Martha. You’re welcome for the idea. I did spray over the charcoal line drawings but perhaps not enough. When I added some washes the charcoal smeared in several places. Interesting but not what I had in mind for this particular piece. Oh well, it quickly became something else. Do you think it just wasn’t sprayed thoroughly? Should it have had several coats rather than one? I would like to try my original idea again . Thank you. Terry

    • February 7, 2011 3:01 pm

      Yes Terry – just spray it well. Don’t be afraid of getting too much spray — it won’t hurt the painting. Good luck!

  5. February 8, 2011 11:40 am

    Automatic drawing- yes; the term eluded me! I’m glad I saw your reply. I like it too; it’s like stream of consciousness writing. Anyway, beautiful painting!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Waiting for Spring, Acrylic on Panel « An Artist's Journal -- Topsy.com

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

