Skip to content

Studio Status Report

February 2, 2011

This is the current state of the six panels I’m working on. Some of these have potential. I’m liking what’s happening on the one at the bottom right:

The dark green shown in this picture is one of my favorite colors to work with. I add black to Azo yellow to get this color. It’s thinned down and brushed onto the texture and then blotted and wiped.

I also wanted to show you these papers. When I want to blot excess paint off one of my panels, the table, or my rollers, I keep newsprint and brown Kraft paper around, and typically I will use it over and over in the same spot on the paper, resulting in multiple “monoprints” on the paper. These end up going into my collage papers stash.

Newsprint Monotype 1

Newsprint Monotype 2
Brown Paper Monotype 1

The more layers of paint the better. I really get a kick out of these papers. They’re almost as much fun as the paintings themselves.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    February 2, 2011 6:52 pm

    Hi Martha. The panels are looking good. I too prefer the bottom right one at this point in time. I have to tell you I LOVE the monoprints taking place on the newsprint and kraft paper. WAY COOL!!!

    It’s our turn to get snowed in today (and probably tomorrow too), what a wonderful excuse to spend extra time in the studio!! I’m currently working on two 12×12’s but feeling a little confused about just where they are going, so maybe I’ll just get out some newsprint and kraft, lay it on the table and see what happens. Don’t you just love the “Why not’s” and “What if’s”. They often become the best motivation!

    • February 2, 2011 7:57 pm

      Well Terry, as far as your 12 x 12’s are concerned, there’s nothing like just building and building until something happens. I do love the Why Nots and the What Ifs. That’s the best part of all!! Even mistakes are to be embraced.

      The papers are so cool. Using them with paint application is an excuse for some really nice paper effects.

  2. February 2, 2011 9:26 pm

    I so enjoy seeing your works in progress. I like the green one as well. The texture is lovely.

    I’m taking a painting class right now, and the instructor has told us we cannot use black or white paint to darken or lighten other colors in our paintings. It’s going to be an interesting learning experience.

    Thanks for sharing so much with us.
    Jackie

    • February 3, 2011 6:31 am

      Thanks, Jackie. I agree with the premise that blacks should be created from other colors. The only reason not to use white to lighten is if you’re painting transparently. Rules and restrictions are a good thing and can teach a lot about color.

      So for me, my approach is to break as many rules as possible along the way to see what surprises I can come up with.

      I have to say that the use of black from a tube or bottle originated with my printmaking days. We would darken blue with black with gorgeous results.

  3. February 3, 2011 3:40 am

    There is this term “free from intentions” — “undesigned” is not exactly the same as our “absichtslos”. In Zen philosophy, this is the base for best results.

  4. pat q permalink
    February 3, 2011 9:52 am

    I love the start of the new works especially the “green” painting. I love the concept of cleaning up bits of an art piece to create other bits of art. I will definitely have to try it..I was wiping up with paper towels which have no body so are difficult to use in collage, although sometimes I glue them in my journal.
    Thanks again for your creativity hints.
    Pat q

    • February 3, 2011 11:37 am

      Pat, I like the heavier papers because they don’t go down into the texture as much, and that way I can wipe away just the wet paint that’s on the high spots.

  5. sherrill pearson permalink
    February 3, 2011 8:29 pm

    ooooooo…Martha. I love what you are doing recently. just love these and feel all inspired to get busy myself.

    thanks so much for showing these beautiful pieces.

    • February 4, 2011 1:38 am

      Glad to know you’re being inspired, Sherrill. If you do get busy, I hope you’ll tell us all about it!

  6. artist@latifahshay.com permalink
    February 9, 2011 9:43 pm

    Hi Martha,
    I really like the panels in general, particularly how the colors and patterns work together as a set – well, at least from the photo. And for independent pieces, I like the top center panel w/ the dark splotch as well as the lower left panel with yellows and greys.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Latifah

    • February 10, 2011 8:14 am

      Thank you for your feedback, Latifah! I think the one with the dark splotch is finished. Still haven’t wanted to work on it more. And the one with the yellows and greys might be too. Thanks for stopping by!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

