Skip to content

Thawing Out at Last

January 14, 2011

Melt - Found Art, Acrylic on Freezer Paper 4 x 4"

Today was our first day above freezing this week. It feels like a heat wave, and the icicles are drip, drip, dripping away.

I have a few more of these little paintings on freezer paper. But the real excitement is that today a shipment of a dozen cradled boards was delivered to my door. I ordered them not because I have a deadline of any kind right now, but just because I wanted them. Look!

I can’t wait to start painting again.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. pat q permalink
    January 15, 2011 9:50 am

    Hi Martha: Glad to hear you are thawing out. We are buried here with 22″ of snow..I do not expect to see the ground till June. It is so the light is so brilliant as the snow reflects it.
    I feel as you do when I have new art supplies to work with…its like being in a candy store. I feel the same way when I go to the library.
    Enjoy!
    Pat q

    • January 16, 2011 7:08 am

      Pat, I feel silly going on and on about our snow, when those to the north of us have plenty of it to share. Yesterday I wanted to take just a few more pictures, knowing it would be gone for who knows how long. Some years we don’t get any at all.

      Yes, I agree with you. Art supplies are the best present, and books are right up there.

  2. January 15, 2011 11:00 am

    Thawing out sounds good. We are still having frost in the mornings but I find it pretty- cold, though!
    New art supplies, how nice! I just bought several new panels myself this week.

    • January 16, 2011 7:11 am

      Stay warm if you can, Stephanie! Enjoy your panels — of course I’m dying to see what they become!

  3. January 15, 2011 10:49 pm

    How’s the drip drip drip going? Hope your world isn’t turning soggy and miserable under foot.
    The new supplies look like they just waiting for you to spread some paint around – have fun Martha.

    • January 16, 2011 7:13 am

      Cath, last night we actually went out to dinner. It is pretty soggy everywhere, but the best part is the streets are clear now. I felt like a bird out of a cage.

      I’ve already been fantasizing about what the new paintings will be!

  4. karen mena permalink
    January 27, 2011 2:25 pm

    Love your work. Can you please tell me about the cradled panels you use. Where do you get them, and what are they made of?

    • January 29, 2011 11:38 am

      Thanks so much, Karen. They are Ampersand and I get them at various online art stores, depending on the deals they are running. Mine are masonite or hardboard panels that have been gessoed.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

