Skip to content

Lost, Acrylic Monotype

January 13, 2011

Lost - Acrylic Monotype on Freezer Paper 4 x 4"

Another one from the Little Passages series.

We are still snowed in for about one more day. Things are suposed to thaw out by Saturday. Since we’re out in a rural area, there are no snow removal services. Anyway, the problem is really ice on the roads, but I hear they are clearing due to the beautiful bright sun. May be we’ll venture out tomorrow, who knows? I’m out of eggs.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:20 pm

    Hi Martha. Glad to hear you should be snow-free in a day or so. Being Canadian living north of Toronto I don’t expect that to happen until about May! But, out of eggs!!!!!! You can’t grow those in your garden.Believe me, if you could, I would. If I actually had a team of sled dogs I’d send them to you to insure a safe trip to the grocery store to replenish your supply. But I don’t, so I’ll just hope that your snow does indeed melt soon and life in Alabama can return to normal!

    This series of small prints you are doing is very interesting. Think I might give some a try. I usually work much larger but lately I’m leaning towards something that will require less space. My husband will be thrilled.

    Thanks for the inspiration!!!! Terry

    • January 14, 2011 5:06 am

      You’re welcome, Terry. I hope these have sparked some new idea for you. I too usually take up all kinds of space doing my work. But it’s nice to have a medium or process that’s portable. For example, that’s one reason I love doing collage. I can take that with me anywhere.

      Thanks for the thought about sled dogs. Just hoping we can get into town soon.

  2. January 13, 2011 8:48 pm

    Hi Martha,
    WE are still iced in here (ATL suburbs) – No mail yet this week, the ice is still thick and it is cold 11˚ tonight-luckily we have supplies but sheesh! I am ready to go out. I’m glad you’re safe and sound, thank you for all the inspiration.

    • January 14, 2011 5:09 am

      Exactly the same situation here too, Jane. I’m writing at 4 a.m. right now, and it’s 7 degrees here. (4 a.m. is normal for me because of the dogs! One of them has to go out invariably by now.)

      I’ll try to keep the inspiration coming. It’s about all I can do! 🙂

  3. January 14, 2011 12:59 am

    These winters change our life style, don’t they? We have a mild interference now. Glad about it.
    I don’t have eggs in the house, I don’t eat them, since I heard they kill all the male chickens to get the laying hens. I should abstain from chicken meat, too, since in this case, all the females get killed. And recently, we had this dioxine scandal. Don’t know what to eat exept veggies any more.
    This monotype has a strong resemblance of a finger print. Although it doesn’t look similar.

    • January 14, 2011 5:16 am

      Yes, Eva, the winter is a different existence, especially with snow lingering. Makes me want to just hibernate.

      Well, eggs aren’t really a necessity. We can certainly do without them. I’ve been vegan for periods of time, and really ought to do it again. It’s healthier for people and the planet.

      That elongated black shape came from a drop of paint that was on my brayer at some point. And its ragged quality is because of the glossy surface of the freezer paper. Interesting watching what paint does, like playing “little scientist.”

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

