Skip to content

Snowed In, Sort Of

January 11, 2011

Found - Monotype on Freezer Paper, 4 x 4"

 

This little piece has a decidedly icy feel, don’t you think? Just the way I feel today. Our snow tried to melt a little today, but the temps quickly dipped below freezing again. Sunshine and sub-freezing temperatures are forecast for the next two days, keeping the roads glazed with hazardous ice.

The problem where we live is that because these events are rare, our local municipalities aren’t very well prepared for ice and snow removal. Therefore, when it’s frozen, we stay home. I so feel for my neighbor with the two little kids and two dogs!

The good thing is that we’ve made sure we have necessary provisions. We just have to hope that we don’t have some kind of emergency.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 5:25 pm

    keep safe and warm and the snow will go, soon to be Spring and dys getting longer!
    We are the same really with the snow we had last year Councils not enough supple of salt and grit though they have more side roads are not done the internet is a plus for staying in touch.Your Monotype is lovely and is very much a wintery feel. I see the snow and tree shapes lovely

    • January 11, 2011 5:58 pm

      Yes, Chris! We are captive to the whims of county services. Might as well make the most of it. I love the internet, especially now.

  2. January 11, 2011 5:29 pm

    It does have that look — of leaves frozen in a puddle, even?

    Good luck with the weather! We have a similar forecast and not enough equipment to handle it… I think it’s a best-stay-at-home day tomorrow.

    • January 11, 2011 6:02 pm

      Thanks, Liz! We are just staying close to home right now. We have the internet and plenty of books! (and candles in case we lose power.)

  3. Terry permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:51 pm

    Hi Martha. Love the prints on freezer paper. Is it the waxed on one side type and which side do you print on?

    I received this link from a friend in the Bahamas a couple of days ago and while we thought it was very funny (’cause it’s true up here)I never imagined it would be appropriate to send to you and my nephew in Georgia – but here it is. Enjoy. Stay warm and safe.

    http://www.arcamax.com/jokes/s-20287-326543

    • January 12, 2011 1:25 am

      Terry, that is hysterical. I’m going to share that with a few favorite people. Thanks!

      Re the monotypes — I wrote in my blog a couple of weeks ago about my table cover made of freezer paper. Here’s the explanation for all of these little so-called prints:

      https://artistsjournal.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/little-passages/

      The short answer is that it’s the shiny side, which is thin plastic. For my table cover, I wanted to be able to peel the paint off, which I do sometimes. But with these, I want it to stay on, so I’ve put gloss medium over the little pieces.

      Enjoy!

  4. January 12, 2011 5:26 pm

    Love that piece. Small in size, big in impact!

  5. January 12, 2011 6:40 pm

    Cold as ice, beautiful!

  6. January 14, 2011 1:18 am

    A big result. Love it! Hope you will show “lost” and “found” on one page to get the pair impression. I love the bright sunny impression; it doesn’t look chilly to me, to be honest, but radiant and warm instead.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

