Skip to content

Found Images and a Found Painting

January 5, 2011

Today was busy with boring non-art things like taking Christmas decorations down and putting them away, plus my usual computer made an unexpected trip to the shop. But I did come across some scans on my Mac that I had done from shots of that famous studio table cover that has been smeared and dabbed and spattered with paint over a period of a year. I thought you might enjoy these scans and get a tiny bit of inspiration from them.

And surprise! In the paintings that came back from my Key West gallery was one that I had never scanned or photographed. Here it is for the first time.

The original title was “Elements V” and so it will stay.

Elements V - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2"

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 9:31 pm

    Very pretty scans Martha! I really like the last one with the aqua smears in the right hand corner. What fun it must be to play with all of your scans. I can see using them as backgrounds for all kinds of creative things. You could even digitally add words to them and post them as greeting cards on one of the many POD sites! Have you ever checked into GreetingCardUniverse.com? I know you are busy with a lot of online venues but thought I’d mention it just in case you need ONE more thing to get involved in. 🙂

    Love this old/new piece as well. The colors and texture are just wonderful. What a joy it must be to get one back to the fold that you didn’t even have a photo of.

  2. Jim Marshall permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:39 am

    Getting art back from dealers is better than not getting your work back; but I prefer shipping out.

    • January 6, 2011 5:33 pm

      Yeah, Jim — I’m always happy to get the art back from galleries when they close. As you well know that hasn’t always been the case.

      II don’t mind saying goodbye to them if they find a forever home.

  3. January 6, 2011 7:00 pm

    Hi Martha. Thanks for following Secret Poems. I found your daily collage site the other day via twitter and was delighted. This one is just as wonderful. My daughter is applying to art school and while I was looking for pieces for her portfolio I came across a pile of paintings she did when she was very little and first discovering paint. Some of them look quite like your table cover smears. There’s often a lot of beauty in the accidental.

    • January 7, 2011 9:45 am

      There is, Mairi. I love kids’ art and often think about Picasso’s famous quote about that. My favorite artists are the ones who can shed their inhibitions and make pure marks that come from within. I love these table cover shots because they look like what I’d love to be able to do on purpose.

      Thank you so much for visiting and for following me on Twitter. I have discovered your beautiful poetry and hope my readers will too.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

