Skip to content

Perfect Storm, Collage

January 4, 2011

Perfect Storm - Collage, 5 x 7" Mounted on 8 x 10 Watercolor Paper

 

This collage didn’t start out to be a reference to nature, but it seems to be in retrospect. I looked at it and thought of a storm at sea. I liked the impression of turbulence of wind and water. This is the most nearly literal image I’ve done for a while.

It’s composed using several different torn pieces of Citra Solv paper, along with a few little snippets of hand painted paper.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 8:29 pm

    It’s great when a work takes on a life of its own – the textures are beautiful.

  2. Sandra permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:13 pm

    Love the colours and the composition.

  3. January 5, 2011 11:28 am

    This is so beautiful. The soft colors are so serene.

    • January 5, 2011 5:12 pm

      Seth, I’m so glad you like this one. It’s so nice adding those Citra Solv papers to the mix. They have endless patterns and colors.

  4. pat q permalink
    January 5, 2011 5:10 pm

    I love the “Perfect Storm” collage with ‘made’ papers. It does look like churning waves..just perfect……
    pat q

    • January 5, 2011 5:13 pm

      Thanks, Pat! I hate to title things literally, but that one just had to be an exception.

  5. January 9, 2011 1:09 pm

    I particularly like this one, Martha! Your art is always inspiring. I often wish that I could break out of the ‘realism’ mould – especially when I see artwork like yours. Lovely.

  6. January 15, 2011 5:48 pm

    very realistic looking scene, I can almost hear the wind howling – excellent composition…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

