Skip to content

Little Passages

December 29, 2010

"Smells Like Snow" - Monotype with Collage on Freezer Paper, 4 x 4"

 

I was cleaning up the studio this morning and found my old table cover folded and lying on a side table. It is made of freezer paper, so that I could just let the paint spill over onto the surface and smear and smudge. It stayed taped to the table for maybe a year, so there are layers and layers of paint. My original idea was to incorporate interesting portions of it into digital art, or offset the paint onto another surface (which I have done to a small extent.)

Today I selected a few 4″ square compositions from the huge piece of randomly paint-splattered and smeared paper and cut them out. Then I added one or two small collage elements here and there.

Sometimes composition is a process of selection and rejection of what is already there.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 4:38 am

    To me, it looks exactly like our snowy roads, a slightly ochre white; and around the New Year, it is scattered with brightly colored firework packing paper.

  2. December 30, 2010 9:03 am

    Love it! Sometimes it’s the process that captures me the most. While I love pretty much all of your work, the imagination that took place before the piece was “The Piece” is so interesting. The story behind the work.

    For me I would have titled it – “Old Used Studio Table Cover”… she said with a chuckle.

  3. December 30, 2010 2:56 pm

    Martha! Another lovely piece of ‘recycled’ artwork! 🙂 Is there any surface you haven’t painted on and used in your creations yet?!

    You are so very inspirational to me and I am grateful for all that you share with us all.

    Happy New Year!!

    • December 30, 2010 2:58 pm

      Question…was this on the shiny side or the dull side?

      • December 30, 2010 6:44 pm

        Thanks Itaya! Happy New Year! Answer: It’s on the shiny side, because if you actually have that taped to your work table, shiny side up, you can scrape the paint off and keep going for a very long time. Or not scrape it off, and you get more interesting things as it accumulates.

  4. December 30, 2010 11:33 pm

    Just perfect! Happy holdidays and a wonderful new year!

    • December 31, 2010 6:29 am

      Thank you, Seth. I’m so glad you like this little exploration. It’s sparked all kinds of ideas. Happy New Year!!

  5. January 9, 2011 6:15 am

    hii i just love it… this is beautyfull…. u can visit my website.. its realated to art & artists… http://www.mydazzlingart.com
    U ll surely like this…

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

