Skip to content

Scan Your Old Family Pictures

December 24, 2010

Unidentified mother and child, photo found among my husband's family pictures

Last night at the family visitation for my brother-in-law, I was reminded what a nice thing it is for treasured old family pictures to be scanned and put into a slide show of memories. I am sure his children had taken care of the major portion of this task well before his passing. He was 92, and by this time they had been preparing for that inevitable day.

My brother-in-law had lived two lives really. He raised four children with his first wife who died from cancer when the kids were just about grown. Then he met my sister, who had four children, also young adults and teens. They became a blended family at a time when most of the kids were leaving the nest.

He was a boy scout leader in the early years, a chemical engineer, and avid mountain hiker. Once a year for more years than I can count, he met several of his friends to hike portions of the Appalachian Trail for a week at a time.

My sister and he loved to travel and find antiques. They created an amazing pioneer village in the woods by a beautiful stream, which was a continuing project right to the very last. Click here to get the full story and scope of this unique place.

Last night we all enjoyed seeing memories of his long and rich life displayed on three different screens. His son had made three separate slide shows highlighting different themes of his life. It was a wonderful labor of love.

Do you know where your old pre-digital family pictures are? Mine are mostly still in boxes. I need to get to work on them, because I’m the only one who knows where they all are. It might be a good idea to compile individualized CDs starring each of my kids with their childhood memories, along with special ones of their own kids as gifts for next year.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 9:41 am

    As it happens have been pondering whether to do the something similar for the old postcards we have collected as a family over the years, These would make a great historical record of mainly Brutish places going back many years, perhaps a new blog
    Keep meaning to start…!

    • December 24, 2010 6:45 pm

      Old post cards would be a wonderful trip through fond memories. You should definitely do it!

  2. December 24, 2010 9:38 pm

    I wonder how many of us have these precious documents and photos are hidden inside a cardboard box in the spare bedroom or worse yet in the garage…do I sound guilty. Each decade holds clues to our own past. I use the photo cards that have become this year’s Christmas card as my precious ornaments. New babies, and siblings growing up in a blink of time…Merry Christmas and may your family find a peaceful quiet holiday to remember your brother-in-law. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  3. December 25, 2010 9:21 am

    Good idea, but so time consuming 😦 I did some, but all my old photos are arranged neatly (!!) in albums. I sometimes think that these albums will outlast all my digital cd’s, backup’s, drives … Hope you had a great day today.

  4. Cath S permalink
    December 25, 2010 6:25 pm

    My sister started going through old photos in Mum’s room recently, and now my nephew wants a scan of them all. So this has been on my mind; might be a good job to start this afternoon. Loved reading through the website, some of the winter photos are so beautiful. What amazing drive and passion.

  5. December 26, 2010 11:44 am

    Your post about sorting and acknowledging photos of our pasts is so relevant with the change in technology. Soon these will be erelivant with the next generations unless we sort them into precious selections with a history that is relevant too!
    Time to reflect,remember and acknowledge.
    Best Wishes and Thank You for all your wonderful posts.

  6. December 28, 2010 4:40 pm

    Hi Martha,
    it’s a wonderful idea scanning family photos, to the Gypsy: yes very time consuming (I did it after my Mom & Dad died) but worthwhile. I made a slide show movie about my parents and distributed it to the family. They loved it and several of them were moved to tears.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

