Skip to content

When You’re Making Other Plans

December 22, 2010
tags:

This week has turned out not to be all about the holidays. My sister’s husband has died after almost a year in the nursing home. So besides getting ready for Christmas, we are turning our attention to a funeral on Christmas Eve. Christmas dinner was originally scheduled to be at my house with ten or so family members, and my sister insists that we proceed as planned with that.

So for Saturday I will be preparing the turkey, gravy, stuffing, homemade rolls, and pecan pies as usual. Others will bring lots of yummy vegetables and other trimmings. Tomorrow and Friday will be all about my sister.

Needless to say I haven’t been in the studio. And I do miss my art, even with only a few days off from it. But sometimes there are more important things that put everything else in perspective.

I hope you have plans for a wonderful holiday. Santa will be coming here just for the dogs and the cat.

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 10:50 pm

    Oh Martha my heart goes out to you and your sister but yet at the same time I can feel the love in your post. She is one lucky sister to have a sister like you. May joy be found between the moments of sorrow. Warm hugs. Terrill

    • December 23, 2010 7:01 am

      Thank you Terrill. And a hug back to you. We are the best of friends, and I’m lucky to have her as well.

  2. December 22, 2010 11:00 pm

    Oh Martha, my deepest sympathy to you, your sister and all the family. It’s terrible to lose a loved one and especially at this time of year. You are in my prayers.

    • December 23, 2010 7:12 am

      Thank you so much, Jane! I really do appreciate that. And yes, it’s sad that it had to be at Christmastime. And yet, he had a good long life, and I think those closest to him will remember him in a special way because of it.

  3. December 23, 2010 1:25 am

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry to hear this Martha! My sympathies to your sister in particular, but I wish peace to your whole family this week!

  4. Sandra permalink
    December 23, 2010 2:46 am

    I am very sorry to learn of the death of your brother-in-law. I hope that you all gain comfort from being together for Christmas Day. I send you my loving thoughts and will be thinking of you.

    • December 23, 2010 7:15 am

      Thank you, Sandra. I think it will be good for us to have our Christmas dinner as planned. Appreciate your thoughts.

  5. December 23, 2010 3:06 am

    So sorry to hear that. Best wishes for your family.

  6. December 23, 2010 7:34 am

    Oh, I’m so sorry Martha. And, to your sister and family.

    We had a death in the family last Christmas Season. It’s supposed to be a happy time of the year. At the same time, now, we remember that person a little extra this time of year. When we think of the Holidays – we always think of him. Maybe put out a special picture, include them in our holiday toast. I’m trying not to shed a tear already. Sorry for your loss.

    At the same time, when I “tuned in” this morning I wanted to make sure I wished you a Merry Christmas – I hope it can be as happy as possible. Talk with you in the New Year. And, looking forward to seeing your work in 2011!

    Best Wishes to you and your family, Martha!

    • December 23, 2010 8:47 am

      Thank you so much, Jennifer. I do think that’s what they will all do each year during the holidays — laugh, smile (maybe cry a little) and tell their “Dad” stories.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

