Skip to content

“Seeing Daylight” – New Collage

December 8, 2010

"Seeing Daylight" - Collage, Approx. 8 x 8" on 100# Bristol Backing

Several of you commented about the two collages in my previous post and your comments were so very valuable and instructive. I had the comforting feeling of being in a critique group with trusted and respected fellow artists (which you are!) So for that I am grateful.

The medium of collage started out as a fun game for me, a diversion, a puzzle to solve. From there it has slowly evolved into a more personal language. Your comments have been a gentle guide along the path. I’ve enjoyed experimenting with several different ways of working with collage, but the most satisfying and promising method turns out to be the most challenging and difficult, but almost always gives me what I’m looking for in the end. And it’s important to note that I don’t know what I’m looking for until I see it.

I’m finding I have to approach collage in exactly the same way that I do a painting. And in the process sometimes things get covered over — and this is important — even if I’m temporarily in love with them. I just have to move through the process and give the piece what it needs.

The collages that make me the happiest are:

  • nonobjective, using paints, natural materials, weathered papers, and handmade and hand colored papers
  • not idea-driven but composed intuitively, with as little Left Brain as possible involved in the process
  • variable in dimensions, textures, and torn, irregular edges
  • composed of the subtle colors of nature

I’ve been tossing these concepts around for the past few weeks, going back and looking at the collages that speak to me the most clearly. Thanks to all of you for articulating some of this for me.

Tomorrow’s Post: Homemade Bread and Art

Any bread bakers reading this? What are some important ways making bread and making art are the same? Tomorrow I want to talk about a specific method of making homemade bread and how it’s very much the same for me as making art.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:51 pm

    Ohhh I like this one a lot.

  2. Sandra permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:02 am

    Intriguing composition, great textures and colours. I do love your rusty red focal point. And the sense that there are mysteries hidden between the layers! I was interested in how you approach your collages and how they have evolved into a personal language for you. That is the challenge I have with my paintings, evolving a personal language. I haven’t got there yet!

    • December 9, 2010 6:17 pm

      Thanks so much, Sandra. Actually mysteries are often hidden between the layers, i.e., covered up pieces. 🙂

      Keep going — you will get there, and there is no rush.

  3. December 9, 2010 3:42 am

    There are two connections that spring to mind for me Martha; they are both hands-on processes, and for the results to be truly good they need to involve the heart of the creator.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

