Skip to content

More Works in Progress

December 3, 2010

“Bird’s Eye View” – Collage, 4 x 4″
Available here in my Etsy shop

Today I spent a couple of hours in the studio working on collages. Some days go well, some not so well. Both yesterday and today were a struggle to get into the groove for some unknown reason. But I never let that stop me. I just keep working until something happens. Like yesterday, when all of a sudden I had those three on canvas that I liked.

The one shown above was done last week. And here are some works in progress:

And more:

Usually just one thing can transform a jumble of disparate parts into something like art. I try to move fast from one to the other, so I don’t have to think too hard about any single one. Actually, I think there are four in this group that I like enough to call finished. You’ll be able to tell when I scan them individually.

After fun time in the studio was over for the day I brought in most of the veggies from the garden, as it will be down in the low 20’s and teens for four nights in a row starting Sunday. I’ve had heads of lettuce to share with family and neighbors, because I’m afraid the lettuce is going to be toast.

After that, I went to the mailbox and there was a nice gallery check for three paintings. Maybe tomorrow I’ll have more good luck in the studio.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Ressmann permalink
    December 3, 2010 6:54 pm

    Sounds like it turned out to be a great day! You’re lucky to still have fresh garden goodies still into December. Stay warm this weekend. – Jennifer

    • December 4, 2010 11:29 am

      Thanks Jennifer. It was a good day.

      We were just remarking this morning what a good run we’ve had with the garden. I’ll just have to let nature take its course with the rest of it now. And yikes! It’s going to be an early cold here. We don’t usually get teens until January.

  2. pat q permalink
    December 4, 2010 7:19 pm

    Hello: I have enjoyed your latest posting of the new collages. At least you are not stuck in a rut doing the same things day after day. Painting, collage, or combined and or picking vegetables, makes for a lovely day.
    I am enjoying my new “ART” collage from your Etsy shop. It is framed and hanging already. A big thank you for the inspiration. patq

  3. December 4, 2010 9:12 pm

    Wow – I find the last photo in this post so inspiring. Almost looks like an artwork as is!!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

