Skip to content

Sparrow Wars and New Collages

November 17, 2010

“Songbird” – Collage, 4 x 4″

We are having sparrow wars outside our kitchen window. Too many birds, too few feeders. But now the fun is really starting. The purple finches, chickadees, and tufted titmice are back again to keep the show going.

There is one bird whose song I hear every morning and afternoon in the spring and fall. That song is so distinctive that I would love to know what bird it is. The song begins with three sustained notes, usually followed by three fast triplets of the same note.

In the studio, I’m working on another big collage matrix. This time I’m adding a lot of text mixed in with paint strokes and other papers. After this dries, I’m going to crop it into smaller individual compositions. Although I do have to admit I almost like it as is. This sheet is 34 x 36 inches.

If you’d like to see the step-by-step for my intuitive collage process, just click here. I love working this way so that the work stays fresh and spontaneous.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 8:13 am

    ohhhh thanks so much for the link to the video…I will go watch right now…I really like your bird/tulip collage above too.

  2. November 18, 2010 8:32 am

    Cynnie, I know. Shoulda been a video! Thanks, glad you like the collage!

  3. November 18, 2010 8:59 pm

    “Songbird” is definitely a favorite among your collages. Shapes and images blend together, but at the same time, you have emphasis and contrast in the music sheet and the color of the flower. Awesome!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

