Skip to content

Paintings Installed

November 5, 2010

These are my paintings from the recently completed commission installed in the client’s home. I’m pleased with the ones they chose for their grouping of five.

This morning I walked out into the studio and discovered that my nice, neatly-arranged little basket of favorite collage materials and tools was upside down on the floor, with a confetti of bits of beautiful papers scattered everywhere. Fortunately, I had also assembled a lot of them in separate plastic zip-lock bags according to shape, size, color, etc. But not all of them.

Was it a dog or a cat? No way to tell, because one dog in particular has taken a liking to my papers, and of course the cat just loves to play with everything she can find. I have only myself to blame, because at some point I had forgotten to put up the baby gate to secure the room in my absence.

Sigh. Everything’s back to normal now, and I hope to take another collage break today.

Here’s another one from last week.

“Vanishing” – Collage, 4 x 4″

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    November 5, 2010 11:59 am

    That is a lovely calming bedroom. And, your paintings really do it justice.

  2. November 5, 2010 1:54 pm

    Oh how pretty Martha!! Isn’t it awesome that they sent you a photo to let you know how they look in their home? They picked the same ones I had picked as my favs. Their bedroom walls are almost the same color as my bedroom walls. Love love love how pretty it all is together with your lovely artwork.

    This collage today is wonderful. Love the little drips and dribbles of red. Very elegant artwork as usual!

    • November 5, 2010 10:19 pm

      Thanks, Itaya! It was the gallery that sent me the picture — three of them actually. And I didn’t even have to ask. I do like the colors in the room.

      Glad you like the collage!

  3. November 5, 2010 9:18 pm

    Oh now don’t your pieces just look perfect in that bedroom! Magic! Pure Magic!

    • November 5, 2010 10:20 pm

      Shhh! Just between you and me, Terrill, I breathed a sigh of relief when they emailed me that they liked them. I’m always a little bit apprehensive until I know it’s worked for the client.

  4. pat q permalink
    November 5, 2010 11:05 pm

    Hi: Love love the five they picked. They really accent that lovely bedroom.
    I love the new collage. The combination of paper and paint and print are exquisite. Thanks again for the inspiration.
    patq

  5. November 6, 2010 3:23 am

    Wow! They look stunning Martha. They seem to pick up the colours of the room a bit. You must feel great.
    Baby gate – some days I am tempted to keep the animals out of my art room, but because it is separate from the house it’s not such a problem, except when the cat trips me up….

    • November 8, 2010 8:50 am

      Thanks, Cath! Well, my studio used to be a 2-car garage, then the previous owners of the house made a rec room out of it. There’s a little hallway off the kitchen and then the doorway-without-a-door into the studio. Those critters can’t be allowed the run of the place! Oh the stuff they get into!! LOL!

  6. November 6, 2010 4:23 pm

    Delicious! It’s the perfect fit that you were working towards. How nice is it that someone thought to send you a photo of the pieces in situ? Seeing is believing! Congratulations!
    BTW, I think your kitty has been secretly emailing my 2 mischievous cats. They’ve learned a few new tricks lately. Mmmm……the joys of pet networking.

    • November 8, 2010 8:52 am

      Barbara, I’m so happy they took the time to send the pictures and told them so! It’s not all the time that we get to see our work installed.

      Oh dear, kitty networking. Scary!! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

