Skip to content

Scurrying Around the Studio

October 29, 2010

“Priceless” – Collage, 4 x 4″

Oh my goodness. This commission project, which consists of seven 12 x 12″ panels, has consumed 90% of my time over the past few days. The rest of my time has to be allocated to family. Late today I ducked out and went to the nursing home to spend time with my aunt, who implores, “Please don’t stay away so long next time.” I explain to her how much time this project has taken. She nods approvingly, and is sincerely impressed with the fact that I actually paint for money. But that doesn’t help her feelings of loneliness.

Meanwhile, I ran out of self leveling clear gel. I knew it was going to be close, but needed to try to make my supply stretch, because I knew that finding more would be a problem here in the hinterlands. But this morning when I could see it wasn’t going to be enough, we got on the phone to see where we could buy it locally. I didn’t have a lot of hope for our small town here, and I was right — zip. Nada. Zilch. We don’t have a proper art supply store here at all.

So we called Michaels in Huntsville, an hour away. Michaels is not where I choose to go for art supplies when I have a choice, because their prices are usually higher than anywhere else. But I didn’t have a choice. They said they did have it, so my husband dashed over to buy what I needed to finish the project. It turned out that they had it only in half pint jars, so he bought two! $14.99 each plus tax, way more than I can get it for online. So I ended up having to use a whole jar to finish my project and tomorrow will order a generous supply to have here for the next time.

No progress pictures of the paintings, because the wet gel makes them look milky. Maybe pictures tomorrow. But here’s another new collage, this one composed on a grid.

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 12:46 pm

    I loved the comment about your aunt being sincerely impressed that you paint for money but it doesn’t help her lonliness.. (Sometimes doing art helps the lonliness, sometimes nothing helps, even those you love.) It is inspiring to me, too, and I hope I will reach that point some day (hopefully soon).

  2. October 30, 2010 4:27 pm

    Fadwa, art takes me to a happy place most of the time. I don’t know what I’d do without it. As for my aunt, she always liked the fact that I could do paintings and someone would buy them. But she’s never had any inclination to try art herself. And now she just wants some of us around her as much as possible. That’s her greatest joy.

  3. October 30, 2010 9:24 pm

    I know what you mean about deadlines and I have an Art Auction for Life …our Aids task force for our community but it is this Friday! I am scurrying around as fast as I can. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  4. October 30, 2010 9:29 pm

    Hi Martha ,love your work as usual I’m still making art (a daily painter) I put down the etching needle and have had modest success this year. Happy I stumbled on your site.

    • October 31, 2010 6:15 am

      Hey there, David — so nice to hear from you! I need to check out your latest work. I loved the paintings you were doing the last time I saw some of them online. I still miss printmaking, but know it can be a total commitment. So I’ve resisted the urge. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  5. October 31, 2010 4:38 am

    Martha you sound so busy at the moment, which is awesome. Just make sure you take care of you too huh? Say hi to your Aunt form New Zealand for me.

    • October 31, 2010 6:17 am

      Cath, I surely will! When I do, she will think you are an old and dear friend. She waves to everyone who goes down the hall and invites them in. Thanks for the good thoughts about taking time out. I do. Naps are good. 😉

  6. October 31, 2010 9:14 am

    Wonderful grid!!! Such inspiring work!! Thanks and have a nice Sunday!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

