Skip to content

More Painted Collage Papers

October 21, 2010

This is a piece of regular brown Kraft paper that came in a box as packing. The crumples were an asset for making this piece. I ironed it smooth, but just with a dry iron so that the wrinkles would still be visible. Then I laid it out on my studio table and rolled different colors over it with a rubber brayer. When the brayer was fully loaded with color, I made very light passes, so that only the raised areas of the paper would pick up the paint. Then as the paint thinned out on the brayer, I pressed harder for subsequent passes. There are probably four or five colors on this piece. This is just one small section of the piece, which was perhaps 20 x 24 inches.

And here are a few of the other new sheets. I did these while they were all spread out on the table, adding color to several at a time — with all kinds of different paint applications. There were more, but these are just a few. I love having a huge variety of papers when doing collage.

I worked on some of them until I hated them individually, but there was really nothing to do but keep going until I liked them.

This is my general philosophy when painting anything. Just keep going until you like it.

Note:  There are metallics in the ones above and below, but they don’t show up on the scanner really.

I worked on some of them until I hated them individually, but there was really nothing to do but keep going until I liked them. For instance, I hated this bottom one with too much blue and red-orange. So I put some glittery spirals on top. I still hated it. So when the spirals dried I rolled some black paint over it with the brayer and smiled to myself, thinking that this looks just like something a kid would do. And I love kids’ art.

This is my general philosophy when painting anything: Just keep going until you like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 6:47 pm

    Ohhhhh preeetttyyy!! I especially love the 2nd and 4th ones! You make me want to just start pulling things out and slapping paint on them. LOL

    What type of paper did you do the last 3 with? They look different than the first one so was wondering if it was water color paper or what?

    Thanks for the lovely inspirations…as always.

    • October 21, 2010 9:20 pm

      Itaya, I used both regular bond paper and some tracing paper sheets. The first of the last three was on regular bond paper (printer paper!) and the last two were on tracing paper sheets like you get in a pad. I love that they are translucent.

      You totally should just start pulling things out and slapping paint on them!!

  2. October 23, 2010 1:58 pm

    What are the faces underneath on the bottom image? Is that from the original materials?

    • October 23, 2010 2:45 pm

      Hi Elisa – In reality, it’s just some paint splotches on plain tracing paper. But I love how we humans are always seeing faces in things.

  3. October 23, 2010 2:51 pm

    at the top, it looks a LOT like the eyebrows down of the Mona Lisa!

    • October 23, 2010 3:34 pm

      Oh my gosh, that is creepy! I see it now!! LOL!! There was absolutely nothing there. She just appeared of her own free will.

  4. Sandra permalink
    October 24, 2010 4:10 pm

    Great variety, love your orange and blue with spirals! The spirals just make it. You never seem to run out of ideas.

  5. October 29, 2010 4:50 am

    ahhhh yummy,,,what fabulous painted papers…..

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

