Skip to content

A New Commission

October 19, 2010


Untitled – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2″ – SOLD

I’ve just placed a rush order for seven 12″ square panels for a commission that I’ve just contracted to do for my gallery in Tampa. I want to get those turned around in two weeks in time for a party that the client is having. These will be textural paintings, which are of course my favorite thing to do.  All I have are color parameters, with freedom to create the imagery. This is going to be a fun commission.

Then I signed and returned a large giclee on canvas last week for a publisher. And last night I sold three pieces in my Etsy shop.

It is so good as an artist to have several ways to sell art.

The image pictured above is one of my first square boxes.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 7:18 pm

    Congratulations Martha on your sales! Good to hear and that commission seems to be just the perfect fit for you. Awesome my friend:)

    • October 20, 2010 6:39 am

      Thanks, Terrill! Things were slow the first part of this year, but I’m seeing a little bit of a turnaround now. It’s encouraging news.

  2. October 19, 2010 10:50 pm

    I’m so glad for your commission and Etsy sales.
    There must be something in the air Martha! I’m working on a 12 piece commission for someone in NYC and just had 7 Christmas card pack pre-orders and 2 prints sell from my latinpopshop. It’s a good day for multi-tasking artists. Yay for us!

    I too have creative freedom with my commission. I agree, it’s the best kind.

    • October 20, 2010 6:41 am

      John that is great! I do think there’s something happening. Either people are showing they really need to have art around them and will sacrifice for it, or the general economy is showing signs of life. Either way is good for us, right?

  3. October 20, 2010 2:44 am

    Wohoo – you ROCK 🙂

  4. October 20, 2010 3:03 am

    This is very lovely Martha! Congrats on the many streams of income for your awesome artwork. 🙂

    • October 20, 2010 6:43 am

      Thanks, Itaya! It’s always been my philosophy to have a lot of things going at once. Something good eventually happens.

  5. October 20, 2010 8:53 am

    CONGRATS to you!!!! Isn’t it nice when all of your hard work pays off! Literally, in this instance.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

