Skip to content

Changing Seasons, Collage

October 15, 2010

“Changing Seasons” – Collage, 4 x 4″ Mounted on 8 x 10″ Backing
available in My Etsy Shop

Now that fall has finally arrived, I marvel at the abrupt season changes here in our new climate. If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you probably know that I need season changes. It’s the slight chill in the air that makes my fall garden happy, from the broccoli, lettuce and cabbage to the beets and rutabagas. They need this time to sweeten and mature. It’s been a real education to experiment with all these new growing things that I couldn’t have in Florida.

Yesterday I hauled out little Abby the Whippet’s favorite snuggle bag. She had forgotten about it from last winter, but took to it immediately.

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 5:36 am

    Love this collage with the juxtaposition of “chinese” and zebra signs and the female nude 2nd row left — unintended, I’m sure!
    Whippets are my very favourite dogs, and this picture is just divine. Too bad I can’t keep one (allergy)!

    • October 16, 2010 11:47 am

      LOL Eva – the female nude was noticed, but it’s a tiny part of an old and very loose drawing of some driftwood and seashells, but that little piece did look like a nude, didn’t it! This little piece was chosen because of the color and quality of line, but of course there really are no accidents!

      Whippets are wonderful. I didn’t know how much until we rescued this girl.

  2. October 16, 2010 10:55 am

    I’ve been seeing a lot of whippets on the ‘net lately. They’re awfully cute, and rather exotic-looking, too.
    Good news re: your garden. We’re also getting accustomed to seasonal differences here in South Carolina- after living in the tropics for so long, we’re unfamiliar with the local growing seasons. Hope to have some veggies planted next spring/summer. Enjoy your garden delights!

    • October 16, 2010 11:50 am

      Stephanie, I know. I’ve been seeing a lot of whippets online too — whippet shops on Etsy, twitter profiles, YouTube, etc. I think they’re exotic looking too.

      This garden has been totally experimental. I’m making mental notes, but should be making a written log. So far, so good!

  3. October 16, 2010 12:15 pm

    Ah the Autumn can be a mixed blessing!
    You have the colours of course, the gold the reds and browns.
    You become more aware of the sun as it not as high as in the summery
    The Sun rising that bit later and setting that bit earlier
    My colour pallet seems to want to change this tiime of year as well.
    It gets colder and the body takes longer to adjust and perhaps you feel you want to sleep more!!
    Enjoy your Autumn Martha!!

    • October 16, 2010 12:27 pm

      All true, Chris! I have been deprived of seasons for so long, but never stopped wishing for them. I even like the mixed blessing. One season makes us appreciate the next one more. Still, I love them all! But in Florida, it was mostly summer punctuated with the occasional few cold-ish days.

      Thanks!

  4. October 16, 2010 7:04 pm

    Autumn has hit here in full crisp light and color. Started plein aire painting to get it down in one day (time flies by too quickly). Have been meaning to ask you-

    were you the Martha I met at Kanuga Art Week in N Carolina this spring?

    Oh, and most importantly – absolutely crazy about your blog (work)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

