Skip to content

Haiku 76, Acrylic Painting with Weathered Papers

October 14, 2010

“Haiku 76″ – Acrylic and Collage on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

This painting was a work in progress yesterday. I had added the big piece of weathered cardboard to the surface, plus some scattered bits along the side. Then I tinted the color in places, and then applied a coat of clear acrylic over the whole thing and left it to dry overnight.

After coming back to look at it this morning, I realized it’s finished. Well, except for more coats of clear acrylic and a final patina.

This will not look familiar to you. I had blogged about the original painting a couple of months ago when it looked like this:

I never did really love this stage of the painting, so I’m glad I kept going.

Here is a picture of the cardboard that had weathered and gotten stained in my garden, and I still have some nice big pieces of it. I love nature!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 6:04 pm

    Oh my goodness, I love “Haiku 76″! The textures are incredible, the colors are divine. The aged look is inviting and warm. And the vibrant color choices to the left add another depth and dimension. The broken/torn pieces show good movement and a process.
    Allison Reece
    NC
    http://allisonreeceoriginals.blogspot.com/

  2. donna baek permalink
    October 14, 2010 9:54 pm

    dear martha, i jsut starrted my pile of mixed papers to weather tonight. i put them on top of a leaf covered patch of ground and weighted the center down with a brick. i live in the very rainy pacific northwest; in fact it’s raining right now, and i’m wondering 2 things:

    because we get so much rain should i shelter te pile at all so it doesn’t become just a sodden mess?

    and how long in this climate ( we get some snow and lot of freezes) do you think it’ll take to get some good deterioration? i’m eager to make some collages with them.

    • October 14, 2010 10:56 pm

      Donna, it’s exciting that you’ve started some weathered papers. There isn’t any hard and fast rule for the length of time that it takes. It all depends on your environmental conditions. I checked mine frequently, because I was worried like you say that they might just disintegrate before I could get them inside. The rain shouldn’t hurt them unless they stayed under water for a period of time. I’d want to make sure they’re in a place that drains well between rains. Going into winter, the process will work more slowly. Just watch them and don’t be afraid to take them in when they look ready. Mine took a couple of months over the last part of the winter and until the beginning of spring.

  3. Sandra permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:14 pm

    Beautiful colours and textures, especially love the first. I am still following your blog and love your paintings and collages but now I don’t work afternoons I don’t get it in time to comment. Am getting broadband at home tomorrow so can check in during the afternoon. Please advise how to add my home email to your mailing list.

    • October 15, 2010 7:35 am

      Sandra, I swear I already replied to this comment last night before shutting down, but looking again this morning it was gone. If this is a repeat, forgive me. You really don’t have to worry about when you comment on posts. We keep going back to them every time someone comments. But if you want to add your new email address, just re-subscribe using your new email. If you don’t want to get alerts at both email addresses, then just unsubscribe with your work one.

      I notice that some time or other since I added the “subscribe” link to my blog’s home page, WordPress has added that feature along the top. Either one will work.

      These aren’t my email lists. They are automated when you sign up.

      Hope this helps!

  4. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    October 15, 2010 12:54 am

    I just love the rush I get when I open your blog to another Haiku jolt!

    Mad about all those glistening ambers and the corrugated lines. I love it Martha, and think it’s just one of your great pieces.

    Montreal, Quebec

  5. October 15, 2010 1:12 pm

    the happy accident could not have happened without your eye, hand and heart … its a beautiful piece … luverly ! >>> Gina

    • October 15, 2010 2:03 pm

      Thanks, Gina. I love it, though, when a piece seems to create itself. It’s a wonder I don’t destroy more happy accidents (though I do my share!)

  6. donna baek permalink
    October 15, 2010 2:00 pm

    dear martha,

    i too think that ” haiku 76″ is one of your great ones. it would look outstanding very large. it was what inspired me to start my own pile. thanks for the info on weathering the papers. can you put the link on again with the instructions? i seem to have misplaced it.

    re: cleaning/ sterilizing them… did you end up putting them in the oven at a low temp? if so, at what temp and for how long?

    thanks again, donna

    • October 15, 2010 2:10 pm

      Thank you, Donna! It’s strange, but I have a difficult time visualizing these larger. I need to get over that, because I do want some large ones.

      OK, let’s see. I think 150 degrees was the lowest I could set my oven. I believe that was hot enough to discourage any mold, etc. And maybe fifteen minutes, tops.

      For the weathered/buried papers instructions, I’m going to refer you to Gina’s blog and from there she refers to my posts on the subject. There is no right or wrong to this.

      http://ginaseye.blogspot.com/2010/02/buried-papers-that-are-not-buried.html

      Just enjoy the process with a sense of adventure! It is addictive, I can assure you.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

