Skip to content

One Foot In Front of the Other

October 4, 2010

“Ably” – Collage, 4 x 4″ on 11 x 11 Backing

How do you get from Point A to Point B? You guessed it. One foot in front of the other. That has needed to be my focus for the past several days.

The art business for me is either feast or famine. I’m sure you can identify with this. Nothing happens for weeks and months, and at times like this I tend to “coast” and can even get complacent. Then suddenly everything happens at once.

Suddenly I have several deadlines going on. I’m not complaining — at all! I’m just so happy that there is a need for art out there.

This past weekend I shipped out sixteen small canvases to a wonderful person who reads this blog (you know who you are — thank you!!) Then I got a call from my gallery in Tampa, Florida asking me if I would like to do a commission. I said of course I would. They also asked for some new work. I’ll be shipping those out this week.

Meanwhile I received a large giclee print from a publisher that needed to be signed and returned. I turned that around today.

Then there is the commission in the works to do a 7-foot painting based on concepts that I’ve created. Today I completed the conceptual images and sent those out.

In the midst of all this, I’ve had some computer glitches that have slowed me down and made me pull my hair out today.

Speaking of hair . . . I decided to color my hair again. My husband helped me with that decision. Well, let’s just say he was giddy when I mentioned that I’d been thinking about it.

So! How is your week going?

PS – I did this collage today when I didn’t have time to do it. I did another one too! You’ll see that one in a future post.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 7:07 pm

    I love this one, and I love knowing that you’re busy with art! When it rains, it pours; if you want something done, ask a busy person, etc. Go, Girl!

  2. October 4, 2010 8:36 pm

    You sound productive…. I have actually been busy making art of all media over the last few months; all pieces are entered in a local fair. So, I am resting from creating, other than my daily classes, until I start some abstract pen and ink drawings for Christmas gifts.

    • October 5, 2010 6:04 am

      Amanda, I wish you success with the local art fair. After all that production, there comes a time just to take a break. The drawings will be wonderful Christmas gifts, and hopefully will provide you with some relaxing creation time too.

  3. Nancy permalink
    October 4, 2010 8:43 pm

    amazing – a 7 foot painting! well done!

    so what colour for your hair? lol… perhaps a collage of colour!!

    • October 5, 2010 6:07 am

      Well Nancy, I said the same thing: Amazing. Still hoping I can pull it off successfully.

      My hair color is just a sort of ash blonde. I didn’t want it to be a big change from my usual streaky white and gray. Some people around here didn’t even mention it, so I guess I succeeded with the look I wanted. Never thought I’d be doing this again!

  4. October 5, 2010 5:13 am

    Congratulations! Hope your success will continue.
    How powerful such signs become when they are displayed like this! I read them as a bl… ly

    The mind works on the hints you give — this is part of the fascination I feel when I see your art.

    • October 5, 2010 6:09 am

      Thank you, Eva. I do love things that have possible messages, symbols, or signs, without spelling it all out. For me that’s fun. Glad you like them!

  5. pat q permalink
    October 5, 2010 9:59 am

    wow that is quite a schedule! You are accomplishing a lot of creative endeavors…including your hair. Love the ‘one foot’ collage.
    Took your advice and am now enrolled in two abstract art workshops. I am absolutely loving it…the freedom and ideas are rolling thru my brain. I also am reading many books on this subject and have visited a few galleries. I
    figure I will absorb like a sponge.
    thanks for the continued inspiration.
    patq

  6. October 5, 2010 11:21 am

    How wonderful! This has to be the most fun job, to create and have people pay for it! I recently became a Realtor in Missouri. I don’t need full time income, and it is a good thing.

    I haven’t had time to paint, and it is always great to see your success, it is inspiring. I can’t wait to see your progress on a 7 foot painting.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

