Skip to content

Safari, Acrylic on Canvas

October 1, 2010

Safari – Acrylic on Canvas, 7 x 5 x 1/5″

This little painting has been sitting in my inventory box for Etsy, and I’ve just discovered it’s not even listed on Etsy. One of my favorite small paintings and just sitting there in the dark! Will get this one relisted today as soon as I finish up with a couple of pressing deadlines.

The pressing deadlines involve real art business – hooray! I need to send a shipment of my 8 x 8 boxes to my gallery in Tampa because they’ve asked for more. Some of them are my newest ones, which now need the sides painted and need wires put on. This is going to take at least half a day.

Plus I’m doing a series of digital concepts for a client for a commission. But I want the images to be printable in a large format, so they aren’t going to just be studies.

These two things are going to keep me in the studio for the rest of today and the weekend.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 1:23 pm

    I like this one too. It is singing bright and happiness! xo

  2. October 2, 2010 9:36 am

    Martha – I just love your blog and look forward to reading it every day. I was wondering what software program you use for your digital work and also how you photograph your work to have the edges show and the shadow around it in your blog. It really stands out and looks so very professional. Thanks for all your sharing, you are truly and inspiration!

    • October 3, 2010 10:21 pm

      Thank you Judy! It’s so nice to know you enjoy my blog. In answer to your questions, I use both PhotoShop and Photoshop Elements, depending on which computer I’m using. Some days I have work going on in both places! Each program has some features that the other one doesn’t have, but most things can be done on both to fit my needs.

      Since I’m not concerned with the 4-color print process, I am just as happy with Photoshop Elements. And it’s way less expensive than full PhotoShop.

      PhotoShop has a “drop shadow” filter, which makes it a breeze to create dimension around an image. It even has an “inner shadow” feature that allows you to make your image appear to be inside a mat.

      With Photoshop Elements, I just create a dark colored blank rectangle layer just underneath my image layer, shift it a little to the left or right and down some, blur it, and then merge all the layers.

      That’s the brief explanation. I hope this helps!

  3. October 2, 2010 9:55 am

    Nice to see that you are still doing well in that people like your painting, the brighten things ups so well and the world needs more bright things!

    • October 3, 2010 10:22 pm

      Chris, that is so nice. Thank you! You know, you’re right. The world does need more bright and happy things.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

