Skip to content

Out of the Studio for a While

September 20, 2010

For how long I don’t know, but for now I’ll be doing shifts at the hospital staying with my aunt, who is 95. She fell at her home over the weekend and we don’t know how long she had been down on the floor. She had a life alert alarm for around her neck, but wouldn’t you know it was sitting on the charger when she went down.

We spent the weekend first in the ER and then in the hospital with her. I spent last night there, and others will do that shift tonight.

But today I’ve just gotten home and will now take a nap. Then I’ll assess the damage to my art career that 36 hours of absence has done. Fat chance!!

Meanwhile, I’ll share with you some pictures that we took on Saturday before we knew we had a big problem at my aunt’s house. I was doing some photos for my digital project that I’m working on. I was trying out my new macro lens. Hope you enjoy these. Have a great week, and I will get back to the blog when I can!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 2:28 pm

    Dear Martha,
    I hope that your aunt is not in a lot of pain. I wish her the best.
    The images are wonderful.
    Best to you,
    Sondra

    • September 21, 2010 9:34 pm

      Thank you, Sondra. She is doing really well under the circumstances. Thanks for your well wishes.

  2. September 20, 2010 2:29 pm

    My thoughts and prayers are with your Aunt, Martha! I’ll be sending LOTS of love and light her way. Know that we’ll be here and waiting for updates about your Aunt AND your artwork. 🙂

    Your images are just wonderful! Look forward to seeing more when you are able to get back to your artwork. I can so see you integrating these lovely macro photos into your digital collages!

    • September 21, 2010 9:35 pm

      Itaya, I so appreciate your good thoughts. I’ll have an update probably tomorrow. She is in the rehab place now and I know they’re going to help her a lot. But it’s sad because she can’t live alone any more. She is going to hate that part.

  3. September 20, 2010 2:38 pm

    Wishing you so well deserved sleep Martha and loving gentle kindness for the days ahead. I will still come poking back into your blog post whenever it makes sense for you to return. For now, focus on what is important – caring for your aunt.

    • September 21, 2010 9:36 pm

      Thank you, Terrill. We are doing that for sure. She is our focus right now, as we are all she has. More news to come soon.

  4. September 20, 2010 2:41 pm

    Beautiful shots! I love these close ups! I’m sorry to hear of your grandmother’s fall.

    • September 21, 2010 9:36 pm

      Thank you. I’m so happy you like the shots. We will take the rest one step at a time.

  5. September 20, 2010 4:01 pm

    Oddly enough your story sounds a bit like my last week – only it was my grandmother who fell. She is still in the hospital but recovering.

    Beautiful close-ups!

    • September 21, 2010 9:38 pm

      Hanna, I wish your grandmother well. These life changes are hard but they do eventually come for everyone if we live long enough. I’m just glad we are here for her.

      Glad you like the pictures!

  6. September 20, 2010 4:46 pm

    Big hugs from across the water to you Martha – I know how much you love you Aunt. Blessings to you both.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

