Skip to content

Things Are Looking Up

September 16, 2010

“Look Up” – Collage, 5 x 7″

Well actually nothing specific is looking up, but I’ve decided to change my outlook this week. I’ve decided to entertain only positive thoughts regarding my art and where it goes, whose lives it enriches, and how it makes me feel when creating it.

Maybe the “how it makes me feel” should have been at the beginning of that affirmation. Isn’t that the most important thing of all?

Here are some things that bring me joy when creating:

Making new discoveries

Getting paint and other goop on my hands

Challenging myself to do something I’ve never tried before

Looking at things an new ways every day

Getting completely lost in the “flow” of creating, to the point at which I forget time

Some days I treat my art like a job, and that’s because some days it is. It does need to earn its keep. But other days are definitely for playing. We don’t always have to be so serious about everything we’re doing. I’m ready to play. How about you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 9:27 pm

    Have been trying for an attitude adjustment myself….I’m the only one who can do it. As long as I use my wisdom to know the difference, between what I can change and what I can’t I will be much happier!!! And it is really freeing….so many things we have to let go of and must. I lost my Mae this week, she was 85 and a dear to us for the 9 years she worked for us in Cataula, GA. Uplifting spirit. I wish the book “the Help” had dwelt a little more on some of the good relationships of that generation. She was more of a mother to me than my own….due to attitude, faith, spirituallity and geography! We all need alternate mothers and I’m just glad I had her…now she can rest in peace.
    Yes I am ready to play too….and work and not let things I can’t control bog me down!

  2. September 17, 2010 9:20 am

    I feel like playing too, and embracing what happiness it brings. That’s why I just brought out my embroidery to stitch some before dinner. It makes me happy! Love this piece of collage. and your list.

  3. September 17, 2010 9:31 am

    Ahh, timely, as always, Martha! Been thinking over the whole of “being an artist” as we left Minnesota and my less complicated life up there. But alas, this summer I worked my tail off and feel that I missed out on much. Enjoyed all the work and what I learned from each piece, but longed for more personal contact and less isolation in the studio. How does one find a happy medium to the artful life?
    On the way home to Florida I announce to John that I’m cutting WAY back, only doing a few shows, no weekend gigs, etc. And what happens? Since we have been home I’ve been invited to 2 Container Shows (which I have turned down before), and multiple groups shows. I can feel my stress headache coming on. I yearn for some of them, which means that maybe I am not ready to retire completely. So maybe only one container show? And a few group shows and one solo? I’ll keep you posted on what I decide.
    But the one thing I know for sure, I’m gonna have lots more fun and much less stress. I’ll honor my work, but not forget my personal relationships in the process. Work should be fun. Life too.

  4. September 17, 2010 11:25 am

    Hi Marsha,

    Thanks for the inspiring blog post! I am with you all the way–having to remind myself to find joy in the process instead of treating it like a job. We’re so lucky we get to make art, but we sometimes forget that.

    Lynne

  5. September 20, 2010 9:30 am

    Play time it is! Love the words on your post!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

