Skip to content

A New Collage, “Currents”

September 5, 2010

“Currents” – Collage, 10 x 8″ on brown paper
mounted on 14 x 11″ Bristol board

This collage is created from part of a big sheet of brown paper that I have been keeping around, adding paint to it when working on my panels, using it as a blotter or to clean my brayers. I liked how it started looking without making anything else out of it, but finally got brave enough to cut it to a specific size for a collage.

Today was another sunny, cool, breezy, glorious day. This morning after watering my garden boxes I just sat down in a chair under a tree. The dogs rolled around in the grass and found a sunny spot to lie down for a while. I watched my garden grow for about a half hour, listened to some new bird songs, and drank in the blue sky and the green of the new shoots. It was a wonderful way to begin the day.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 10:43 pm

    REALLY Love this Martha! You must have cut the perfect place on the paper because it’s just wonderful. The creases from the paper and additional markings you made gives it a lovely geometrical look.

    Glad things are cooling down in your part of the world! 🙂

    • September 5, 2010 10:56 pm

      Oh thank you, Itaya! I felt those creases needed to be part of the image. And I hope there will be another piece or two on that sheet for potential collages.

  2. September 6, 2010 1:45 am

    Well worth the wait!! a very nice pic.
    You paint nice image word as well with nature and the dogs,

  3. September 6, 2010 12:24 pm

    This is so much more than a collage. It is a “document from a forgotten time” or so. I love it. Very romantic!

  4. September 6, 2010 3:17 pm

    I like this one. It looks like an unfolded map by the lines. It’s always nice when you find something you didn’t expect and it fits.

  5. September 6, 2010 5:19 pm

    I love using the “extra” paper as you have to create something new!

  6. September 6, 2010 9:21 pm

    I love using the recycled papers to make new art. I love the story a used paper bag can add to the voice of the new assemblage. Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

