Skip to content

The Night Blooming Cereus

August 12, 2010

When we left Florida, I had to leave behind my Night Blooming Cereus, the mysterious and exotic cactus flower that blooms only at night in midsummer. Our new climate would not accommodate it, and in any case, I would have had no way to get it here with a packed car, 3 dogs, and two cats in tow. It was a sad thing for me, because it had been given to me a couple of years before by my friend Dina, Diva of All Things Green and Flowering.

Yesterday, when we picked up our granddaughter at the airport, she told us that her brother, who had originally adopted my cereus, ended up passing it on to her, because he didn’t find a good place for it in his yard. They both have green thumbs inherited from both sides of their family, so it wasn’t that he couldn’t grow it. It was more a case of having just the right space for it.

Now just a year later, Jill has nurtured it and it’s blooming. She was so excited to show us the picture she took on her cell phone just a few nights ago.

Not only has she nurtured it well, she has rooted more cuttings of it.

In addition, she has a 5 x 3′ raised bed vegetable garden at her little apartment and has had some pretty impressive success with it this season.

Is it OK that I sound like a bragging grandmother?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 12:19 pm

    It is known as the Brahma Kamal flower in India. Its surprising to see this huge flower actually hanging from the periphery of a succulent leaf (and the scent is unique too). Delighted to know that it blooms in your side of the globe too.

  2. August 12, 2010 4:12 pm

    I guess this is the one we call “Queen of the Night”. Adorable.

  3. Sandra permalink
    August 12, 2010 8:54 pm

    Seeing that there are rooted cuttings, is there anywhere on your property you could create a microclimate for it? I don’t know this plant or its requirements but just wondered if there was some way you could provide for it and have a cutting.

    • August 12, 2010 11:21 pm

      Sandra, if I were to root one and keep it in a pot, keep it from growing too tall to manage, I think I might be able to bring it in during the winter. I might try it.

  4. August 12, 2010 9:52 pm

    Wow….my mom had one and I got to see it bloom once and photographed it…that was many years ago…she did give me my green thumb. PS. weird thing is it stinks…or was that another plant she had that night bloomed???

    Sorry your friend is so it. Keep growing stuff….hope it cools off soon.

    • August 12, 2010 11:24 pm

      Toni, we were just talking about the other one tonight — the one that stinks. It draws flies, etc.?

      I’ve started my fall garden! I hope some of it “takes.”

  5. Terry permalink
    August 12, 2010 10:07 pm

    Hi Martha. It’s not only OK that you sound like a bragging grandmother, it’s WONDERFUL! Thanks for sharing both your grandaughter and the photos of that beautiful and obviously well’loved plant. Terry

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

