Skip to content

Putting Art to Work

August 10, 2010

“Cool and Distant” – Acrylic on Canvas, 40 x 30″ – Original Sold

Today I’ve been retrieving as many as possible of my archived very-high-resolution images of paintings with the purpose of offering more of them as giclee prints.

Some are already licensed, but others aren’t, therefore I’m free to use those on websites like Imagekind, Redbubble and FineArtAmerica. If they are just sitting there on a disk, they might as well be earning their keep.

If you have good-sized images, I highly recommend this. You never know what someone will want to buy as a print. It’s great fun to open your email and see a message that says “Congratulations! You just sold a print.” These sites walk you through the process of uploading your images and show you how large your prints can go.

The image above is one I’ve probably never shown on this blog. It was a painting I did in 2004.

Tomorrow we pick up our granddaughter at the airport and she’ll be staying a week. She’s on university break and soon will be starting work on her MBA. Meanwhile, we’ll have a little fun in the studio, hang out with her Alabama extended family, explore a little, catch a movie or two, and maybe even go up to Amish country. I know she mainly just wants to be as far away from school as possible at the moment. If I don’t blog every day the rest of this week, I’m sure you’ll understand.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 7:09 pm

    I will understand and have a marvelous time with your granddaughter. I just got some long awaited time with my grandson who is only eight years old this summer. Precious days.

    I have never used anything but redbubble. How do you find the other sites in comparison?… (just realized this might not be a fair question for your blog. Feel free to give it a miss if you would rather not say)

    Best of the summer to you Martha!

    • August 11, 2010 9:00 am

      Terrill, I just love eight year olds, don’t you? They are so full of life and discovery.

      I actually just recently decided to use Red Bubble at Itaya Lightbourne’s suggestion. (She’s on Twitter and also reads this blog.) I’ve been on ImageKind the longest, and have made two sizeable sales on their site. FineArtAmerica has just hit their stride, I think, and though I haven’t had a sale on there yet, they seem to be doing all the right things. So I guess it’s too soon to compare.

      Thanks — hope you’re enjoying your summer in that beautiful part of the world!

      • August 11, 2010 3:29 pm

        Glad to see you took my suggestions and listed your things on the other sites Martha! 🙂

        I haven’t sold anything on RedBubble or Fine Art America but I was talking with an artist yesterday that has sold several prints and got a commission on her artwork from Fine Art America in the past year. I have sold a few on ImageKind however and they are supposed to have pretty low traffic in comparison to FAA. So not sure what is up with that.

        I agree that your artwork can always be earning lots of revenue by putting it to work for passive income such as these sites. Zazzle has been an excellent source for me to earn passive income and I highly recommend it! I’ve also earned quite a bit by making greeting cards on greetingcarduniverse.com . Especially if you cater to the wedding crowd there.

        Have fun with your grandbaby!!

  2. Sandra permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:28 pm

    I just love your use of colour in this one. It is very like one I have up on my computer. Have a wonderful time with your granddaughter.

  3. August 11, 2010 3:58 am

    repros is a good idea … this one must look lovely reproduced … red bubble is great for quality … have a wonderful break with your granddaughter … >>> Gina

    • August 11, 2010 8:52 am

      Thanks, Gina. Glad to hear that about Red Bubble. I know that the others offer really good substrates too, though I’ve never ordered samples.

  4. August 11, 2010 8:12 am

    Hi Martha

    What a great painting! These links are great – they really offers prints at affordable rates. Have fun with your granddaughter.

    -Jennifer

    • August 11, 2010 8:51 am

      Thanks, Jennifer. Yes, I really do think I’d order a print myself if I ever wanted to give one as a gift, etc.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

