Skip to content

New Haiku Painting Before and After

July 28, 2010

Here is one of my Haiku paintings before I started working on it today. It was just OK, but it still needed something. It reminded me of a cake with some yellow and white frosting:

And here is the finished version:

“Haiku 74″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

This painting had sat on the studio table for a couple of weeks since I started it, along with one more that still needs to be resolved. Today I spent an hour or so figuring out how to finish it, trying different things, some of which worked and some that did not. But when things don’t work, they sometimes become part of the solution.

First I brushed on some deeper yellow and some raw umber into the yellow area. Where you see the red streak dividing the two sides of the painting, there was originally a black one. I felt that was wrong, so I decided to wipe it off. But instead of running to the sink to wash it off, I just kept wiping it into the crevices all over the surface of the painting and using a wet brush to force it into the texture. I liked the grungy look that resulted.

Then I was left with a division without anything happening between the two main textural areas. So I thought I would try red for no particular reason except that it would definitely jump out. I like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 12:07 am

    its gorgeous …. love the description of how you got there – can see it ! nice work Martha >> Gina

    • July 29, 2010 12:26 am

      Thanks Gina! I just now corrected my post to be a little bit more precise, because I looked at the picture again and realized I hadn’t mentioned the change in the yellow tones. Anyway, glad you like it!

  2. July 29, 2010 1:05 am

    HUGE improvement! So much more impact. Love it.

    • July 29, 2010 12:22 pm

      Thank you, John. As I’ve said before, I wish we were all in a room painting together. One can pretend!

  3. July 29, 2010 5:06 am

    Yes, it is perfect now! The black wash was a brilliant idea. And the red line just had to be there. Very Japanese!

  4. July 29, 2010 1:33 pm

    Don’t you just love it when that happens?
    🙂 Well done.

  5. July 30, 2010 10:38 am

    I love the fact that you allowed the painting to speak to you and your muse…the wash of black is one example of process leading the way. The touch of red is brilliant. Have a great weekend! Imagine and Live in Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

