Skip to content

“Recovered” – Newest Collage

July 16, 2010

“Recovered” – Collage, 8 x 8″ Mounted on 14 x 11″ Archival Paper

It could be all the fun we’e been having with family, friends, and the garden that makes me feel a need to recover just a little. Today I discovered a stash of tomatoes in the studio refrigerator drawer to go with the ones I’d been picking all this week. So that means we definitely have plenty more to can or freeze. And there are about four pounds of cucumbers ready to turn into pickles too.

The heat has been another factor. The garden’s a little dry and droopy, and I find myself inside the house too much. but today it’s finally stormy, windy, and cooler. After we get our promised rainstorms tonight, maybe I truly can say I’ve recovered.

The more collages I do, the more addicted I become. (So maybe I need to recover from my addiction to collage?) These have been so much fun that it’s hard to tear myself away from the studio. But now what needs to happen are some hours spent online sprucing up my Etsy shops. Both colorpoetry and brushwithimagination need some updating and some new art. This is going to take at least a day, but I don’t mind. It’s always nice to see them looking revitalized — another title for my series!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 6:27 pm

    Hi Martha,

    Again, you have created another beautiful collage! πŸ™‚

    Not sure if you are familiar with spoonflower.com or not but they are having a contest that might interest you. I KNOW you have tons on your plate but thought I’d at least pass it along. Here is a link – http://blog.spoonflower.com/upcoming-spoonflower-contests.html . Of course the deadline is soon like in the next few days I think. It involves taking a collage that you’ve made by hand and submitting it to be printed on fabric. Each week they have a new contest for everyone to vote on.

    Might be worth checking out. You never know…you just might find a spare minute or two in the next few days to submit one of your awesome collages! How cool would that be? To see your very own collage artwork on fabric?! πŸ™‚

    Your garden photos on Flickr look so yummy and wonderful BTW. πŸ™‚

    • July 17, 2010 7:08 am

      Thank you Itaya! And I definitely will check out that printing site. You always have the best internet tips!

    • July 17, 2010 5:18 pm

      LOL! Yeah…I do come across a few tips don’t I? πŸ™‚

      Here is another one that made me think of you. Are you familiar with this group on RedBubble? http://www.redbubble.com/groups/disintegration-collaboration-disco They apparently do disintegration artwork!

      Can’t remember if you’re on RedBubble or not. Anyways…go and join if you aren’t! It’s free! πŸ™‚

      • July 17, 2010 6:14 pm

        I am, Itaya — thanks to you!! πŸ™‚ I’ll check out that group. Thanks!

  2. July 17, 2010 1:13 am

    sure it’s abstract.. simple but nice

  3. July 18, 2010 3:43 pm

    Martha, This is my first visit to your blog and I like it very much, particularly the way you draw a comparison between the rich abundance of your garden & the need to preserve it and the rich abundance in your studio.

    I’m knee deep myself in a series of collages–no recovery from this addiction in sight!

  4. July 19, 2010 3:17 am

    You do collages very creative
    Should belong to the abstract ^0^

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

