Skip to content

Canning Day

July 12, 2010

“Haiku 72″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

The studio and the kitchen are next to each other, and that is a very good thing. I spend 90 percent of my time in these two places.

Today was a canning (and freezing) day, since we spent last week on break with our kids who were here with our beautiful little toddler granddaughter. While we played, a bumper crop of cucumbers, peas and tomatoes reached their peak, and so I picked them to process this week. Canning is really never an overwhelming project, because I like to take it a day at a time.

Here are the bread and butter pickles and the quart of pickled sweet peppers that I did today. In the big canner are five pints and one quart of tomatoes processing as I’m writing this.

In addition, I have several freezer bags of zipper peas, carrots, and green beans that I put up this morning.

Now after this project, I plan to spend the rest of this week in the studio. Collages and paintings are calling!

Shown above is another one of the Haiku series that I decided is finished. Someone liked it at the black dot stage. I ended up taking it two stages further than that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 11:42 pm

    Love the colors and movement in this painting Martha! Very pretty.
    Glad you had lots and lots of yummy vegetables to put by for the winter. They look wonderful. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

