Skip to content

Should Have Stayed in the Studio

June 22, 2010

“Haiku 68″ – Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8 x 8 x 2”

Today all I did was pull weeds, water the garden, get sweaty, go inside to cool off, then back out again for a little bit. After that, I was done for the day! Temperatures are hovering in the 90s, and all you have to do to sweat is stand outside doing nothing.

So I abandoned that whole idea, took a shower, went and got a haircut, and picked up my three paintings from the local art center, where the show finished up on Monday.

But I did have a wonderful moment this morning. I was sitting outside with my coffee very early, and here came a house wren hopping through my carport and ducked through a little hole between the closed doors of my shed, into the shed, and stayed a couple of minutes. Then she came hopping out and flew off. I watched her make three trips. So now that I know she is frequenting my shed, I will have to make sure the dogs don’t discover her. There maybe be babies already. The wren had something small in her beak when she went inside the second time.

Here is another one of the paintings I’m calling finished. Hope you like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 5:55 am

    As always Martha, your colours sing. I love this ongoing series. Wouldn’t baby house wrens be lovely! But I agree, wee birds and dogs are not a good mix…

  2. June 23, 2010 6:35 am

    Thank you so much, Cath. There’s something wrong with my scanner lately. It gives everything a pinkish cast, so then I have to correct the colors. These were as true as I could get them, but in real life they are even a tiny bit more saturated than I’m seeing on screen. But glad you like them!

    We keep those shed doors (big double doors) closed at all times unless we have to get tools or the mower out. Right in the gap at the bottom is a tiny hole just right for a wren. I’m awed at their ability to find an unusual refuge. Just so sweet. What I worry about is their hopping around in the carport at the wrong time! As if I didn’t have enough to worry about. 😉

  3. Sherrill Pearson permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    Hi Martha

    I love this little painting. The ochre coloured images remind me of amenones (spell ?) – those fishy thingies that look so gossamer.

    Martha, I feel for you in the heat. In Montreal, right now, we are sweltering in the 80sF. Don’t you have air conditioning?

    Really like the Haiku series.

    • June 23, 2010 12:15 pm

      Thank you, Sherrill. I thought about sea creatures when I saw these too. Yes, we do have air conditioning, and what a blessing. I can’t imagine how we ever lived without it, but we did! Even here, when I lived here as a kid.

  4. June 23, 2010 1:39 pm

    Hi Martha,

    Love this little painting! Not sure what the little thingies in it remind me of unless perhaps some kind of mushrooms or as Sherrill said anemones. Whatever they are I love them! The colors and composition of this one are just wonderful.

    Yeup, here in the Pac NW very few have air conditioning and when it does get hot, we suffer! Fortunately it doesn’t usually last for very long at a time before the temps cool back down again. Don’t miss the sweltering heat of the south AT all!

    Stay cool and create more lovely things for us to drool over. 🙂

    • June 24, 2010 6:46 am

      Itaya, of course I love to keep things that happen in my paintings if they remind me of anything from nature. And I call them “things that happen” because that’s exactly how it works for me. Glad you like.

      I think I would love your part of the country. The heat here is very much like where we were in Florida. It just sits on top of you through the middle of the day. There are drought years as well, which we haven’t experienced yet, but will I’m sure.

  5. Sandra permalink
    June 23, 2010 9:37 pm

    Lovely uplifting colours, what a delicate and spiritual painting. The coloured images remind me of the intricate nests built by some kinds of birds. And here the temperature is a miserable overcast 8 degrees celsius!

    • June 24, 2010 6:49 am

      How nice, Sandra. Thank you!

      And it’s hard to imagine being chilly right now. I’m sure you’ll hear me complaining come January!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

